Book Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

The Prince and the Dressmaker

My rating: 5 out of 5 Stars
Received: ARC provided by Netgalley
Publication Date:February 13th 2018
Publisher:First Second
Point of View: N/A
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Young Adult, LGBTQ+

BLURB:

The Prince and the Dressmaker is about a young 19th Century prince named Sebastian who secretly loves to wear dresses. He hires an ambitious young seamstress named Frances to make dresses for him and as their collaboration grows, so do their feelings for one another. Sebastian and Frances must find a way to balance their inner desires with the strict expectations of the royal family – or risk exposing Sebastian’s secret to the world.

REVIEW:

No lie, I’ve been wanting this book since 2016. I requested this book in 2016. And then I got an email back that read that this beautiful, amazing, thrilling graphic novel wasn’t set out to come out until 2018.

And that’s the story on how your blogger died.

On July 1, 2017, this blogger came alive, ya’ll. When her netgalley request got approved, and for an hour she lived, she thrived, because she read the hell out of it.

This is beautiful story about a dressmaker who just wants to make beautiful dresses, and a prince who just wants to wear dresses. Together, they thrive, both living out their dreams. And I was thriving and living whilst reading about them both. I loved this graphic novel, and I really have no words in how to go about reviewing it other than GO! READ! THIS! WHEN IT’S OUT!

This story is about blossoming into who you are, without binaries to hold you back. It’s about finding those who accept you for who you are and are there to push you to be the best. It’s about a coming-of-ages, friendship, family and owning up to who you are, a romance in different ways. I can’t wait to see if we’ll get to read more of this characters, because I would love to see the ‘after,’ to see both characters grow.

I want to note that, although, Goodreads and my review is classified as LGBTQ+ , I always try to specify what I identity of that the book and the characters fall under. With TPATDM, I think it’s a queer book, because although Sebastian dresses in dresses, he still uses he/him pronouns. I think if anything he falls under genderfluid, perhaps even non-binary, but since that’s not on text I can’t say that Sebastian falls under those, with any authority.

In all, this lived up to my expectation and anticipation, and I can’t wait to hold the physical copy.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

 

Buy Here Instagram | GoodreadsTumblr Twitter |

Leave a Reply

