Book Review: Mature Content (Cyberlove #4) by Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell

Mature Content (Cyberlove, #4)

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: ARC via Novel Take
Publication Date:June 2, 2017
Publisher: Megtino Press
Point of View: Third Person (Multiple)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, Contemporary, Romance, Cyber Love

BLURB:

My life plan is to be brutally honest all the way to the bank. Don’t believe me? I run a popular YouTube channel called TrashyZane, and my claim to fame is oversharing about every aspect of my personal life. Sometimes while tipsy. Not everyone loves my style, but I have a long history of icing out people who can’t handle me. I have no time for judgmental foolishness.

Except, apparently, when it comes to Beau Starr. His channel is the polar opposite of mine, and so is he. Wholesome, inspirational, and clean-cut. Everything about him should turn me off, but when we hook up following a confrontation at a convention, my world flips upside down. Not only does Beau Starr turn me on, he uses the exact combination of dirty talk and roughness needed to turn me out.

But we still hate each other. I think.

REVIEW:

He tasted like alcohol, pop rocks, and bad decisions.

Dare I say this is The Hottest book in the Cyberlove series?

I think I dare.

Youtube is my thing, not like my thing that I do (although I maybe want?) but something that I know pretty well watching for years now. It’s obvious that Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell know what they’re doing (although I would want to see how they would write actual recording—what with the messing up and re-saying things, but maybe it would be to much reiteration?), and wow do they knock this out of the park.

Hardwire introduces Beau and Zane, youtube rivals that bicker and fight every time the other’s name is so much as uttered near their vicinity.  You can imagine how their coming together is something that is Needed, capitals and all. And when they do….well, they come together in the only way they can whilst still hating each other

“He wasn’t pretending to like this, there was no way he was that food of an actor. He got off on the hair-pulling, the hand-tying. He got off on me telling him what to do in a tone I hadn’t used in years. It wasn’t every day I met a guy who got this turned on by my brand of sex. “

The Love-Hate sex is on point. The banter is on point. The kink is ON. Point. Everything is on point. 

“I’m not Beau Starr right now. But I am the guy who’s going to fucking torment you until you beg to be used. Beg to be my slut.”

I really don’t want to spoil anything, especially because of the ending, or rather the afterword. I will say that Zane and Beau completely had me away until 4 am, just wanting to read them have that volley of wit and sarcasm and barbed insults that weren’t really insults. It had me there going on their dates, eating In-N-Out and everything in between.

AND. One of my favorite things—the groveling. Obviously, there’s bound to be conflict, sometimes it feels like a formula for romance novels, but Megtino really outdid theirselves with this one, at least to me. See, miscommunication/misunderstanding is a “roll my eyes kinda thing.” But if you must, then do it well, right?

Well, Megtino have the THING, but Beau knows that there’s no reason to be melodramatic or to draw it out when he can fix it, and I cry at the groveling because this two are a power couple.

I really love how each character just feels real. Their problems are complex, and they are dealing with things outside of relationships, and have to grow.

I just really enjoyed this one so much, that it’s now tied for my favorite with Strong Signal, and that is a huge deal. Just saying.

But like, really, go and read it! Actually, if you haven’t already go read the entire Cyberlove series.

He’d showed up at my apartment buck naked under a trench coat, and it was the single most romantic thing anyone had done for me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Buy HereInstagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter |

Leave a Reply

