Book Review: True Colors (True Love #2) by Anyta Sunday

True Colors (True Love, #2)

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: ARC via Netgalley
Publication Date: March 14, 2017
Publisher: Anyta Sunday
Point of View: First Person (Marco)
Genres & Themes: MM Romance, LGBTQ+, MM Romance, Contemporary, New Adult, College

BLURB:

Oskar used to be Marco’s best friend. His everything. His sunshine yellow.

But that was before. Before Marco stopped being a hot jock. Before he learned to live with scars and pain. And before Oskar tore their friendship apart.

Now the boy next door has returned home, determined to rekindle his friendship with Marco, and Marco’s more afraid than ever. Afraid of getting hurt. Afraid of being humiliated.

Afraid of falling in love.

Can Oskar find a way through Marco’s fear, back into his heart?

True Colors is an enemies to lovers, boy next door, first time, slow burn M/M romance with a generous helping of UST. This no-cliffhanger, HEA book can be read as a standalone.

REVIEW:

“What colors am I supposed to be?”

His answer has me drawing him into a sensual kiss.

“All of them, Marco. You’re all of them.”

There’s few writers that make me feel like I’m reading some magic words in a contemporary world. For example, Suki Fleet, who I’m always cautious because I know it’ll hurt. Nash Summers, who captured me with Maps and Fawn, because wow are this character dazzling. And Anyta Sunday, who writes characters as if they’re something magical, who love and feel in such a way that you can’t help but root for a HEA.

True Colors was like the epitome of my daydreams. I know, it’s a weird sentence. See, I often say I don’t like angst, but I do when it isn’t the entire plot, or when it’s because of some miscommunication. But I love angst when you want that character to grovel, and pine, hard.

Reading about Marco and Oskar was hard. Mostly, because I didn’t know how Marco could get pass those six words. I felt for the kid. I felt for the kid who trusted and instead got six letter words that impacted his life, his outlook, and his self-esteem. And Oskar, little cocky shithead who at times I wanted him to hurt, because how dare you.

Image result for i was rooting for you gif

This story featured a friends-to enemies-to-friends-to-lovers trope, and hell yeah was it enjoyable. I loved that Marco took his time, that it wasn’t shoved under the rug.

But. True Colors wasn’t perfect, by all means. For example, Oskar’s sister has had Marco as a brother of sorts since he’s moved away. There’s this moment when Marco, justifiably so, snaps at Oskar. Then, Zoe (sister), gets so mad at him that she uninvited him to her game, made him feel guilt and demanded him to make it up to him. Like I get it it’s your brother, but you’ve known this guy maybe not get in the middle of something you might not understand?

I also had a problem with Oskar and his boyfriend. I don’t know if Jessie (boyfriend) was a plot device, because things don’t add up.

Lastly, the sex scene. I don’t want to get super spoilery, but six words change Marco’s life. Those six words have impacted his life in a big way, and then when they have sex, in this defining scene, I wish it wouldn’t have been “tighly-wrapped-in-a-bow” type of scene. I wanted the, look, things will take a while, and they will because no magic dick will heal my insecurities.

Regardless, I did love reading about Opa, Zoe, the play ( I want this type of plays in my life, and it actually was so vivid in my mind, what the heck), Marco standing up to Oskar’s mom. And I especially loved reading Marco and Oskar’s journey. A journey filled with pain, forgiveness, and friendship. Learning what happened, and why those six words were uttered.

At times I didn’t want Marco to forgive Oskar, but Oskar won me over, little by little.

Hope this story wins you over. 

Buy HereInstagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter | 

 

 

Leave a Reply

