Book Review: A Family for Christmas by Jay Northcote

A Family for Christmas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by Author/Publisher for an honest review *
Publication Date: November 16, 2016
Publisher: Jaybird Press
Point of View: Third Person (Rudy & Zac )
Genres & Themes:  MM Romance, LGBTQ+, Holiday, Christmas

BLURB:

Zac never had a family of his own, but Rudy has enough to share.

Shy, inexperienced Rudy has a crush on Zac from the moment his new colleague walks through the door. On an office night out before Christmas, Rudy finds the courage to make a move, and they form a tentative bond. When he discovers Zac will be alone at Christmas, he invites Zac to come home with him.

Zac prefers to keep people at arm’s length. Yet when Rudy offers him a family Christmas it’s impossible to resist. With no parents of his own, Zac is pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by Rudy’s. The only drawback is that everyone assumes they’re a couple. Unwilling to disappoint Rudy’s mum and make Christmas awkward, they decide not to deny it.

It’s not a chore for Zac to pose as Rudy’s boyfriend, but the pretence makes him want things that scare him—things like a real relationship with Rudy. Zac’s suffered enough rejection in his life already and is afraid to risk his heart. If he can get over his past rejection and let Rudy inside his armour, he might get more for Christmas than he ever imagined.

REVIEW: 

Sometimes you just have to ask the universe and it delivers.

me: I want a low-angst, feel good—short, like quickie, you know..like when you want..—book.

universe: look no further

kindle: new arc.

This really had all I wanted wrapped in a bow—I meant, book! (if I don’t make at least one pun with each book, then I don’t know who I am) Jay Northcote seems to be the only holiday fest books I tend to read during this time. I’m not one to be into holiday themed books, because I’ll read them any time of the year. Christmas in July? Why not.

As someone who completely forgot about Thanksgiving this week, this book came at a perfect time. Not only was it what I wanted, but it also gave me some holiday feels. Don’t get me started on Holiday movies, because I used to binge watch for the ENTIRE month.

Image result for christmas kiss gif

A Family for Christmas is a super charming holiday feels novel. Most of that has to do with the characters, especially Rudy. Our shy, super sweet protagonist. Who is majorly crushing on the anti-social new hire, Zac.  Zac is all about keeping people out; he only has time for work, gym, and home. Exactly in that order. Until tequila gets in the mix. And we all know that tequila can lead to some crazy decisions. Like say…a kiss…and getting invited to christmas? I mean, it’s never happened to me, but if Dylan O’ Brien every invited me home for christmas, and after a kiss, well I certainly wouldn’t say no.

Image result for tequila gif

Rudy and his family is exactly what Zac needs, but it’s all up to Zac if he’ll not only let Rudy’s family in, but Rudy himself. This was such a hopeful, feel-good novel that I honestly wished that it snowed in Miami. Each character brings such warmth to the book and to Zac’s life that I wanted Christmas to last for an entire month, and to slowly thaw Zac’s heart. Also, there’s holiday games and it definitely introduced me to some amazing (and hot? who said being in the closet has to be all bad….Rudy and Zac, you naughty naughty boys) games! As for the ending? Well, this wouldn’t be a holiday Northcote book if there wasn’t a HEA. Because that ending had me smiling so big, and wishing for an epilogue to the epilogue.

The real ‘angst’ in this novel is that Zac is an orphan, and he’s had tragedy follow him around regarding family. Zac is wary of getting close to anyone, not only for fear of rejection, but of having that taken away from him. But Rudy has plenty of warmth, and love, and family to give.

Image result for christmas kiss between two guys gif

If you’re looking for a pick me up, low-angst, quick read, with so many feels…well, why not get a family for christmas (okay, that’s the last title pun. i swear)! It doesn’t have to be December for you to get in the holiday spirit.

INSTAGRAM: 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Buy Here |Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter 

Leave a Reply

