Book Review: What It Looks Like by Matthew J. Metzger

What It Looks Like

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date:August 20th 2016
Publisher: JMS Books LLC
Point of View: Third Person (Eli)
Genres & Themes:  MM Romance, LGBTQ+, BDSM

BLURB:

Eli Bell is the only son of a police chief inspector and a forensic scientist. He’s grown up wonky in a world that only deals with the straight and narrow — and his new boyfriend isn’t helping.

Rob Hawkes is six feet of muscle, tattoos, and arrest warrants. A career criminal and a former guest of Her Majesty’s Prison Service, he’d rather hit Eli’s parents than sit down to dinner with them. One wrong move, and Rob could destroy Eli — and his family — without a second thought.

But this isn’t what it looks like.

Rob’s not in control here — and Eli’s the one to blame.

REVIEW:

Image result for that was hot gif

I’m absolutely in love with this book. I’m in love with Eli and Rob. Like holy shit, I didn’t know I needed this book until I was reading the first page and got HOOKED.

This book gives you that feeling of not wanting the book to ever finish, but yet you can’t stop reading.

What It looks Like to have Eli and Rob just love the fuck out of each other.

What It looks Like to read the best sex scenes, ever.

What It looks Like to find out how kinky twinky Eli is…

What It looks Like to see trans represented

What It looks Like to see #ownvoices write about trans in loving relationships

What It looks Like to love and accept yourself and know people will love you

This book is not without flaws, same as how the characters are. The one flaw this book has is the amount of fighting Rob and Eli have. I’ll admit that the makeup sex is amazing, but the fighting was all over the book. And I don’t hate for the reason most would hate it. Eli seemed to choose his parents time and time again with the arguments, in that for most of them he should have stood up for Rob. He knew what type of man he was and the way that his parents would belittle him would have gotten me fed up by the third and four time they did it. Sure, Eli came to his senses, but I felt like it should have been sooner. It wasn’t until Rob basically had to spell it out that it wasn’t at all okay, and that it was damaging to him that Eli finally woke up.

Image result for dominating guy gif

I like the build in books. The meeting, the first kiss, the first time, the banter, but this book had them together by the first page and omg did I freaking love it. I love how unapologetic Eli was about his feelings and his needs to be clingy and wanted and love and touched. As for Rob, he’s a bad boy. I’ve been looking for an example of bad boy for authors when writing guys like Gray and confusing a psycho for a bad boy, and Rob. YUM. Like get me a man like that.

He was brash, unapologetic, crude, but he loves Eli with everything he has. The way he made Eli comfortable with who he is, and how he is always thinking about Eli first and foremost had me swooning. Rob might be my favorite, but I love Eli all the same. Together does two were explosive and hot and sweet and romantic as fuck. Which is a rare mix, because sometimes authors want to do one or the other.

I have to say that even though I’ve pointed out the fighting, I could read 600 pages of it and I would not get bored, at all. I just loved each page, and each interaction between this two. I love how the author presented trans information. I honestly learned so much without seeing it as informational dump.

Image result for dominating guy gif

This is one of my favorite books this year, and that’s because I can already tell I’ll be taking this bad boy out again and again. I love this two characters that just felt so authentic, so flawlessly fluid. it felt like I was reading about two real people, instead of fictional characters. When they felt sad I felt sad, when they were apart and suffering I suffered, when they were happy I had the biggest, goofiest grin on my face, when they were tying and spanking each other up I was….. okay I’m not finishing that sentence but just know everything is tangible. You fall in love with their love and their bigger than life personalities. LIKE HOLY HELL GIVE ME 100 domestic fics!

The biggest and best part about this novel is the love and acceptances of Eli. Rob who hasn’t the slightest idea of dysphoria, of what it means to be trans, of what it means to Eli to complete his transition, but regardless he worships Eli. He knows that he loves him, that he’ll support him through whatever. And Rob teaches Eli’s parents that he might look like a mug, but at least he’s accepted Eli more than they’ve accepted him. I feel like it spoke to me in ways I can’t explain, but this are the books that can mean so much to so many people, this are books than are needed. And with that I just want this book to get to all of you, they way it did to me.

LET ME KNOW IF YOU’VE READ IT OR ARE THINKING ABOUT BUYING IT!

Don’t forget to follow my bookstagram:

2016-10-21 05.26.17 1.jpg

Buy Here |Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter 

Leave a Reply

