Book Review: The Cabin by Natasha Preston

The Cabin

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: ARC Provided by Netgalley
Publication Date:September 6, 2016
Publisher:Sourcebooks Fire
Point of View: First Person (Mackenzie)
Genres & Themes:  Young Adult, Suspense, Mystery

BLURB:

There may only be one killer, but no one is innocent in this new thriller from Natasha Preston, author of The Cellar and Awake.

When Mackenzie treks to a secluded cabin in the woods with six friends, she expects a fun weekend of partying, drinking, and hookups. But when they wake to find two of their own dead and covered in blood, it’s clear there’s a killer among them.

As the police try to unravel the case, Mackenzie launches her own investigation. Before long secrets start to emerge, revealing a sinister web of sins among the original seven friends. The killer is still free. Every one of them is a suspect. And Mackenzie starts to realize that no one is innocent…

REVIEW:

DNF at 35%

DNF when a week later and I had still not finishing a fairly short book. Compared to what I usually read in a week (1000+ pages).

DNF after finishing Adulting 101 and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child whilst reading The Cabin (i.e I had no qualms setting it aside and had no problem finishing other novels).

This days when I request on Netgalley it is with a heavily presumption that I will finish the book, that I’m very much looking forward to reading picked book. The Cabin was no exception, after seeing The Cellar so many times at my job, I decided to forgo my aversion to buying books from ‘AKA Wattpad Sensation ____,’ honestly publishers, that just makes me stay FAR FAR AWAY from a book.

Despite that, the premises caught my attention. I was ready for some thriller, high suspense book. Instead, from the first two pages I knew. The voice, the dialogue, it was all just off. I hated Mackenzie’s inner voice, I hated the narration, it sounded childish. Poorly. I just couldn’t get into it. But I forced on, I was only 5 % in, I reasoned.

Forth I went, and still nothing. My attention wandered….over to Wolfsong by TJ Klune and from the beginning that book hooked me, the voice was marvelous, the tingling of the IT book was present. I knew that that book would change everything, but I stopped myself. I had The Cabin after all, and I had already cheated it multiple times. I didn’t want to be a cheater, and so I stopped my book affair with Wolfsong, hoping that my relationship would get better.

It didn’t.

Sure, the voice got a tad better, but the dialogue, Mackenzie’s inner voice was just so hot and cold and all over the place.

‘1 remote cabin. 7 friends. 1 killer. No one is innocent’

That sounds thrilling, except it isn’t. Not at all. I honestly tried forcing myself but I feel like I’ll just end up hating Mackenzie. Which, honestly, at this point I don’t. She’s loyal to her friends and seeing her defend not only her friends, but this total stranger who she had a one night stand, is great. And she even has great friendships. I loved her female/female friendships and her female/male friendship. Even seeing her interacting with Kyle made me think I could end up liking it, and then came a contrive scene with him that I knew is going to make him a suspect, but it seemed so overdramatic.  Then came a Blake scene and yeah, no.

Super childish, super awkward characters, not a thrilling premises. This plot has been done countless of times, but an author can make it their own and thrive, but sadly Preston failed.

 

Leave a Reply

