Release Day Blitz: Fast Connection by Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell (+ Review)

9f97496a-9f1f-4ec7-a13d-56ea434daa7a.jpg

BLURB:

After a decade of serving in the Army, everyone still expects me to be Dominic ‘Nicky’ Costigan–the skirt-chasing player. They don’t know I’ve been spending my days trying to figure out my post-military life. Including how to pick up guys.

When I meet Luke on a hookup app, he makes it clear it’s for one-night only. That’s fine with me, because I’m down to see what this silver fox can do. But after I arrive at his doorstep, it doesn’t take long to realize we have serious chemistry, and we end up meeting again.

He’s got more walls around his heart than a military base, but I think he’s as addicted to me as I am to him. He can’t resist me for long. I mean, who can? Except Luke’s rules exist for a reason, and when I test his limits, things get complicated. Maybe too complicated.

*FAST CONNECTION is a standalone, full-length romance novel with no cliffhanger*

LINKS:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks | All Romance Ebooks | Goodreads

FCteaser1

REVIEW:

Luke: Hey, nice pic.

Luke: Do you have one of your face and ass?

StaffSgt: In the same pic? Dude, that’s hard. I don’t do yoga.

Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell have done it again. 

There are adjectives that came sum this novel. All of them would be true. None of them would do it justice. Going into this novel I knew it would be good. Fantastic. Brilliant. And I was not wrong.

The duo have written yet another fun, hilarious and seriously steamy novel. The follow up to Strong Signal doesn’t fall short, certainly doesn’t disappoint and doesn’t suffer from the dreaded second-novel syndrome.

But one of my favorite aspects about this duo’s storytelling is that although the characters and the stories are fun, and the banter is grade-A, there is always that real life grittiness. The elements are relatable (#relatable). Take for instance Dominic, who is now a vet, has given 8 years of his life to the army. He was sold of this dream of a better future, but the reality is stark and eye-opening when he comes back. And this is true, this is what awaits vets. But what is relatable in this situation, even if you’re not a vet or a soldier, is how he feels that feeling of being stuck in life. That feeling of taking up space. Like damn, I had to take a step back because I related so much to Costigan. Especially with his home situation. And what I absolutely loved that the writers did, is that they made Costigan cognizant for what it was —verbal abuse.

Kai and Garrett are one of my favorite couples, and whilst reading Fast Connection I had the urge to go back and visit them. Fret not, though, they do make some cameos. Garrett still the grumpy cat as always, and Kai still as adorable, if not more, as ever.

“Being the sole focus of Luke Rawlings was like basking in the sunlight.”

But Luke and Dominic. They were intense and interesting. Dominic might have a thing for Grumpiness, because is Luke THE GRUMPY CAT SILVER FOX . But soon they both can’t get enough of each other. They were frustrating to watch at times. Luke has his hang ups, and for a reason. But that doesn’t mean he gets to walk all over Dominic, who is so lost and just full of love. In the end, though, I got what I love best….groveling. I’m a sucker for characters who stand their ground and make the hard decisions.  The angst is minimal, and you’ll see it coming, but it’s necessary.

“There was something really fucking shocking about how thirsty I was for this guy to shove me around and do whatever the hell he wanted.”

Seriously, read it. Grumpy silver fox and smartass are the best combination ever, and you should read to find out how hot and steamy that combo can be.

PS. Reading about the teens in this story had me muttering, “White People Problems.” Like honestly, I’m hispanic and hell no would I have had the guts to do what this teens did. What with the slamming of doors ( big no-no in hispanic families to have doors locked, and even a bigger no-no is parents knocking, like sureee would that ever happen) and the attitude and the later bigger no-no. I wanted Dominic to tell the chat so BoricuaX1 would go all:

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 5.45.53 PM.png

PPS. There’s an awesome surprise in the end 😉

_____________________

AUTHORS:

megan14

 

Megan Erickson is a USA Today bestselling author of romance that sizzles. Her books have a touch of nerd, a dash of humor, and always have a happily ever after. A former journalist, she switched to fiction when she decided she likes writing her own endings better.

She lives in Pennsylvania with her very own nerdy husband and two kids. Although rather fun-sized, she’s been told she has a full-sized personality. When Megan isn’t writing, she’s either lounging with her two cats named after John Hughes characters or… thinking about writing.

 

 

Where to Find Her:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon

SH image

Santino Hassell was raised by a conservative family, but he was anything but traditional. He grew up to be a smart-mouthed, school cutting grunge kid, then a transient twenty-something, and eventually transformed into an unlikely romance author.

Santino writes queer romance that is heavily influenced by the gritty, urban landscape of New York City, his belief that human relationships are complex and flawed, and his own life experiences.

 

 

Where to Find Him:

Website | FacebookTwitterGoodreads Amazon

vsco-photo-1 (1).jpg

Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter 

 

Leave a Reply

