Book Review: Devil’s Kiss (Sunset Cove #2) by Ella Frank

Devil's Kiss (Sunset Cove, #2)

 

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date:May 22, 2016
Publisher:Ella Frank, LLC
Point of View: Third Person (Derek & Jordan)
Genres & Themes: Romance, M/M Romance, Contemporary, College, Abuse, Teacher/Student

BLURB:

What do you do when the one you least expect to matter…

Ends up mattering the most?

Derek Pearson likes to think he’s an easygoing guy. Uncomplicated, upfront, and unapologetic with what he wants. His what you see is what you get attitude is on prominent display for anyone who cares to look, and his foul mouth is right there to back it up should you miss the point.

However, what you see isn’t always what you get, and only a select few have ever glimpsed the real man under the brash exterior.

Among them? Professor Jordan Devaney. Complicated, high-maintenance, and vibrant, he’s Derek’s opposite in every way. From the moment they saw each other, a love-hate relationship began.

But what happens when one person wants more?

REVIEW:

The Temptation series was all about getting the guy who identified as ‘straight’ to give him a try. Finley was about a guy,who went away for almost a decade, coming back to his hometown and to the guy who he hasn’t seen in forever. Two completely different books being about two completely different guys and couples. So then why did Devil’s Kiss read like a recount of Finley, hmm?

I’m always hesitant around authors who write angst and who rewrite their love interests being separated for years because I feel like their next story will follow the same formula and that’s not good, both for the authors and me. First, because then that might mean one less read, and, second, it means that I probably won’t enjoy it if I give it a chance. Thing is every book, every story should feel like a brand new idea. Not the same formula recycled.

Is Devil’s Kiss the same as Finley? No. But the thing is the whole ‘a decade separated’ was done in Finley, so I really didn’t want it in Devil’s Kiss. And perhaps if it was done different, I would have bought it but I just didn’t.

A plot device (plot mechanism) can be anything which moves the plot forward. A contrived or arbitrary plot device may annoy or confuse the reader, causing a loss of the suspension of disbelief.

The whole story felt like a big plot device to get this two to draw the romance out. Derek and Jordan meet much the same Brantley and Finn did, in fact, they’re story almost went the same way. Except that Jordan and Derek don’t act on their feelings. Not for a long, long time. The sexual tension was drawn out for so long that I almost didn’t care for it. Actually, their first time I kind of didn’t care for it.

I love their beginning, with their crazy hate banter since it reminds me of how I act with my crushes. They tend to bring out the worst and the sassiest parts of me, so I was living for it, but the thing that made me feel so disconnected was…the time jumps.

Oh, the time jumps. For most of it I was left in the air, like the time they lived together…and supposedly became friends, but as a reader we didn’t read, nor feel it, so why just took their word for it? Hmm, not me.

It wasn’t until the 60% that I started to enjoy it more than the blasé feeling I was having towards them. Slow-build is one of my favorite tropes ever, but this one was glacier pace and it left me feeling cold towards everything. I enjoyed when they finally seemed to get their heads out of their asses.

Jordan as a character left me with a bring question mark, there wasn’t a reason as to him not wanting Derek. And Derek, I liked him better than Jordan. But his whole fleeing whenever things didn’t go his way got tired after the 20th time.

In all, I hope if the Sunset Cove series continues it does so without time lapses and contrived long drawn out decade separations.

devils

Buy it Here| Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter | Finley Review|

Leave a Reply

