Book Review: Want by Kade Boehme

Want

 

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: May 17, 2016
Publisher: Unlisted
Point of View: First Person ((D)ante & Trevor)
Genres & Themes: Romance, M/M Romance, Contemporary, Best Friend’s Brother

BLURB:

D is tired of playing games.

Dante “D” Vargas is home in Miami, to stay. He has a job he likes as the new head of bonds and bounty for Mack’s Security and after six years of making a mess with Trevor Mackentire, he’s ready—he thinks they’re both ready—for them to stop playing around and figure out if what they have is real. But Trevor is his boss’s son and his best friend’s younger brother so it’s not as easy as taking what he wants.

Especially when he also has to convince Trevor he’s over being afraid of his feelings and not everything is what it seems.

Trevor wants the D(ante).

Finally healthy and whole again after the effects of a major car accident, Trevor’s tired of being treated like a child by everyone he loves. He’s been handling his own for a long time. But he’s lonely. Trevor knows he shouldn’t keep setting himself up to be hurt by D’s hot-and-cold routine, but he’s cared for the man forever, and lusted for him even longer.

Yes, they set each other on fire, but old fears, old wounds, and being stuck in a game of push and pull makes it feel impossible to get it together. Maybe they should just well enough alone.

It’d be easier if every meeting, every taste didn’t leave them wanting more.

REVIEW:

I did like it, but for some reason it just didn’t work that much for me. Did it put me out of the slump that I’ve been in a week? Dammit, yes it did.

The thing was that I’ve read Kade Boehme’s work and this one was a bit lackluster. By this point I think everyone and their mama’s know that the editing needed work, and a lot of it. Despite that, that wasn’t my primary issues with the novel. First, I just felt very disconnected to D and Trevor, mostly to their connection. It all felt superficial, and I think that’s because for most of WANT the inner monologue was so repetitive, and when it wasn’t the information given out was kind of like a last minute addition. A ‘I’ll-figure-it-out-as-I-go” type of information.

I did like that Trevor and D were this big alpha guys and that they got all mushy and sappy and romantic, hell yes, lets break the stereotypes that guys can’t be like that. When people are in love there is all kinds of messy cheesy thoughts and words flying around. I did like their hot and wild and angry sex scenes, and I love the unexpected tender ones and everything in between. I did like that there was no big angsty, dramatic scene, but that’s because the story did have time for it.

The first portion of the novel was spent with Trevor being so childish, which is another thing that perhaps affected my reading. They didn’t talk even though at every turn they said they would and sometimes it was so easily seen as a plot device and to further the miscommunication, because D could have talked to him since he first came instead of “waiting him out.”

What I’m saying is that I expected more; the hot, angry, wild sex and romantic feelings, but with characters and a plot that didn’t feel stifled. One that felt like a real hardship, instead of this disoriented feeling I’m left with….

Follow Me On Instagram:

1 (1).jpg

Buy it Here| Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter 

Leave a Reply

