Book Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married #1) by Leta Blake, Alice Griffiths

Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married, #1)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: October 27, 2015
Publisher: Leta Blake Books
Point of View: Third Person (Will & Patrick)
Genres & Themes: Romance, M/M Romance, Contemporary,  Novella, Comedy

BLURB:

Join the fun in this vibrant first installment of the new romantic comedy serial by best-selling author Leta Blake and newcomer Alice Griffiths!

After a drunken night of hot sex in Vegas, strangers Will Patterson and Dr. Patrick McCloud wake up married. A quickie divorce is the most obvious way out—unless you’re the heir of a staunchly Catholic mafia boss with a draconian position on the sanctity of marriage.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place, Will and Patrick don’t like it, or each other, but they have to make the best of it until they can find another way out of their marriage. To ensure the trust fund Will’s charitable foundation relies on isn’t revoked by his mobster grandfather, he and Patrick travel to Will’s hometown of Healing, South Dakota, posing as a newlywed couple in the throes of true love at first sight.

Complicating their scheme are Will’s unresolved feelings for his all-too-recent ex-boyfriend Ryan, and Patrick’s desire to get back to the only thing that really matters to him in life: neurosurgery. Will they fool everyone? Or will the mafia get wind that their marriage is a fake? Throw their simmering attraction into the mix and all bets are off!

Episode 1 of 6 in the Wake Up Married serial.

REVIEW:

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Frozen Strawberries are my favorite!

“He’s bowlegged from being fucked and there’s a hitch in each step. Patrick surges with pride. There’s something incredibly satisfying about any job well done, of course. ”

We all know what happens in Vegas stays in vegas. Cliche, but I had to! I’m a glutton for all kinds of  cliche tropes in fanfics, and this book reads like one hell of a good time fic. So you know I would be all over it. I got to tell you for a first installment I am all in.

First, the whole premises is fun. And…I don’t really have a second. What I do have is Will and Patrick who are charming together. There’s this low simmering tension to both of them and I can’t wait to see it boil up, because we all know that with a little bit of patience and plenty of spices we have one yummy treat!

But in all seriousness, I have to say that I love serial books. They have this build up that novels don’t often get, but then there’s the problem of having to wait for the next installments, so I rectified this by waiting for the whole series to be released.

“ They tugged their ear instead and that gesture was enough to terrorize a man.”

“Such a proud heritage.” Patrick wipes a pretend tear from his eye.”

I have to say Patrick is already a favorite of mine. He’s cynical and grumpy and mean and charming. The way he’s so blunt to the point it hurts is actually hilarious to me. One of my favorite parts was him and his Doughnut fight. Fight for that doughnut, Patrick!

As for Will, I hope some of Patrick’s carefree attitude rubs off on him and he allows himself to fall for Patrick’s charm. And letting Ryan go, seriously he’s no bueno.

I’m on to the next one and I hope it just gets better from here. Though as it is I’m already enjoying it, I can see some hilarious shenanigans coming up, though! And I can’t wait to see how the family and mob are and how this two fare with that. 

It was love at first fuck, guys. Doesn’t get better than that.

Favorite Quotes:

“Your recovery should be defined by something you can control, Will. And you can never control another person.”

Can you at least please try to act, I don’t know, charming? Please?”

Patrick shrugs. “Charm’s for people with no substance to back it up.”

“ Give him a bitter pill if the situation demands it, but don’t tell him it’s chocolate.”

Buy it Here| Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Will & Patrick Wake Up Married (Wake Up Married #1) by Leta Blake, Alice Griffiths

Leave a Reply

