Book Review: The Detective’s Pleasure (Cuffs, Collars, and Love #2) by Christa Tomlinson

The Detective's Pleasure (Cuffs, Collars, and Love, #2)

 

My rating:of 5 peach emojis
Received: Own
Publication Date: February 10, 2016
Publisher: Unlisted
Point of View: Third Person (Ryan & Sam)
Genres & Themes: Romance, M/M Romance, Contemporary,  BDSM

BLURB:

You’ll kneel for me without me having to tell you to. And when you do, you’ll feel so much better. Trust me.”
– Detective Sam Roberts

Officer Ryan Bennett: Ambitious and smart, Ryan Bennett is a young officer on Houston’s police force. He’s pursuing his dream of being promoted to the city’s elite SWAT team with a single mindedness that won’t accept any outcome but success. But that isn’t his only dream. Ryan wants more than a coveted position on SWAT. He wants to be owned by a strong Dominant. To give himself up to a Dom who will make him shudder with pleasure beneath a firm yet loving hand. Unfortunately, Ryan has had nothing but failure in that part of his life. Now, he’s hidden that dream away from everyone, including himself. And he refuses to let anyone close enough to see what he truly desires, and who he truly is.

Detective Sam Roberts: Cool and calm, Detective Sam Roberts is good at reading people, during the day as a detective and at night as a Dom. He easily sees past the hard layer of arrogance surrounding Officer Ryan Bennett to the hurt submissive hiding beneath. He wants to help Ryan, even though the stubborn young man resists him. But Sam isn’t one to back down from a challenge. He’s determined to help Ryan embrace the soft, giving nature of his submissive side. Using both a gentle hand and the sting of the whip, he’ll work to coax Ryan’s submission free. But what will Sam do if he’s successful? Let Ryan go as promised? Or give the young officer the very thing he’s wanted for so long?

The Detective’s Pleasure is Book Two in the Cuffs, Collars, and Love series and is the follow up to the best-selling m/m romance, The Sergeant. If you love romance that is epic, emotional and erotic, you’ll want to give this series a read!

REVIEW:

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Instagram Post

I can’t believe I might have missed out on this book. Let me give you a little background, because I have to give it to Christa Tomlinson: I originally wasn’t going to write a review on The Detective’s Pleasure, not for any major reasons, I just thought that this was going to be a read and that’s it. After, I came to the conclusion that I was going to write a short review, but would post it to Goodreads and not my blog. Suddenly, the story sucked me in (no puns of any kind intended here) and I was left contemplating…to write or not to write a review. For the entire day this thoughts battled within me and I just knew that I had to share and possible entice someone to give this story a chance, as did I.

Usually BDSM isn’t written exactly up to my standards or expectation. The Doms aren’t hard on the subs in terms of carrying out punishments, and I get tired of that because sometimes it needed, you know? Well, The Detective’s Pleasure….and really that has to be Ryan’s Dom, Sam, he not only surprised Ryan’s assumption of how unDom like he was, but he surprised me as well.

Ryan is such a brat. That’s what made the beginning so rocky for me; Ryan was stuck-up, snotty and just plain bratty, but as the pages turn and the story unfolded, this novel got better and better. By the time I was 80% in I was hesitant to continue, because I just wanted to keep being surprised by this two.

The truth in the story is both Ryan and Sam’s coming together. The real magic is their D/s relationship. The tenderness and sexual chemistry this two can’t contain is amazing to read. The scenes were well-written, a tangible tension that I reveled in. But an understanding and respect that should always be present in this dynamic was ever-present.

I love the patience in this novel; from Sam’s patience with Ryan, and the patience to develop the chemistry and connection they both had with each other. Admittedly I didn’t read the first in the series, but I felt the tension and I could imagine what transpired between the other characters and I’ll reassure old readers that Ryan’s redemption is hard earned.

I bookmarked many sex scenes because they honestly were hot, but there’s only one that I think encompassed how good it got:

“I am yours. If you want me.”

A possessive growl rumbled up from deep in Sam’s chest. “I definitely want you. And you are mine.” He turned them, pushing Ryan down until he was flat on his back. “Who do you come to when you need help?”

“You.”

“And who takes care of you?”

“You.”

[…]“And who gives you so much pleasure that you end up screaming and lost in it?”

Ryan swallowed hard again, running his tongue over his bottom lip. “You.”

“Then tell me, Ryan. Who do you belong to?”

“You.”

Hell to the yes, Sam. That whole “Then tell me, Ryan. Who do you belong to?” really did it for me. All I got to say is this book is all around surprising. I love that the angst wasn’t there, but the D/s dynamic was actually hot and that Sam was stern with his punishments….and hard… And the ending! Those gifts seriously threatened to melt my heart!

Ps. this book tried me with inspiration for pictures but in the end I ended up in love with how the pictures came out, so I guess it did all around surprised me.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Instagram Post

Buy it Here| Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter 

Leave a Reply

