Book Review: The Cattery by K.A. Merikan

The Cattery

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by author/publisher
Publication Date: April 8th, 2016
Publisher: Acerbi & Villani ltd
Point of View: Third Person (Goran & Ollie)
Genres & Themes: Romance, M/M Romance, Contemporary, LGBTQA+, Kink

BLURB:

— Role-playing a cat for six months? You said you’re paying how much? —

Goran’s mouth has no filter, and it’s losing him job after job. Desperate and a week away from being homeless, he finds an offer online that sounds too good to be true. Spending six months in a mansion by the beach in return for a hundred thousand dollars as long as he sticks to the house rules.

This might be the one job where his unruly mouth doesn’t get in the way. After all, saying the wrong thing is impossible… when you’re role-playing a cat.

Meeting all the other guys at the cattery seems to be the icing on the cake, but the inconvenient truth he dishes out turns out to be too much. Goran makes everyone his enemy, but worst of all, Ollie, the prettiest cat of the bunch, the one who’s been in the cattery the longest, and the one who makes Goran’s heart skip a beat.

Ollie’s big blue eyes hold secrets Goran is intent on cracking, but to do so, he will need to learn to bite his tongue and listen. Too bad the pretty blond ice prince is set on getting Goran kicked out of the cattery for good.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS:

Themes: debt, enemies to lovers, cat-play, Miami, immigrant, billionaire, love triangle, social anxiety, rent boy, backstabbing

Genre: M/M contemporary romance, sugar kink

Length: ~61,000 words (standalone novel)

WARNING: Adult content that might be considered taboo. Explicit content, strong language, multiple partner scenes. Reader discretion advised.

REVIEW:

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Instagram Post

It took me less than 5 hours to read this book, and more than 11 hours to come up with a way to start this review, and still not have my feelings in order. I think the K.A Merikan duo are the only ones who could make me interested in some very kinky sh— Forget everything you think you know and just read on.

In fact, I haven’t read a book this fast this whole year. I was in parts disturbed and intrigued and anticipated and conflicted. And I think that basically sums up The Cattery.

Kinky is a given with K.A. Merikan, and The Cattery is no exception. Except that everyone is so complex and what you think will happen doesn’t, instead your constantly surprised with this rather catty kittens. As expected from cats, there are cat fights and some rather nasty claws in some kittens, as well as some heat.

The truth is that I don’t like cats, I’m more about dogs and pups, but never did my dislike of cats make its appearance whilst reading this book until I’ve written this very sentence. Wow. What I do know about cats is that they do their own stuff, they’re independent and free-spirited, and that personifies our main character, Goran. One of the reason I immediately liked Goran was because he had no filter, not in offensive way, but just in the he opens his mouth and the truth comes out. Like seriously customer service opens your eyes to how shitty some people are. But the thing is that Goran’s mouth gets him in trouble more often than not. Especially when he meets Ollie, one of the cats at the cattery, the guy who catches his attention immediately.

giphy (1)

As for Oliver, I found him the most complex of cats. When I first read him I kind of made a note of ‘Kiddddd,’ because I didn’t know if he was as delusional as he made himself out to be with certain comments. Then, I kind of wanted to smack him for some decisions he made regardless of who instigated said decisions, and so I was balancing between wanting to give him the benefit of the doubt because I could see there was more to the surface and just wanting him far far away.

“He would fuck the Persian cat, and it wouldn’t mater that he had no pedigree.”

As the book goes on though, the reader finds out slowly about who Ollie really is and I can say that although I still wanted to smack him from time to time, I understood. This is a guy who found the Cattery a save place, who isolated himself from the real world for two years, and let me tell you when you live in a bubble the real world is a scary place. As for his “love” for Luis, at first I wanted to know why? They didn’t seem to even talk so how was that love? Again, it is all connected.

As for Luis, and the rest of the cats. I didn’t like Luis all that much, nor really accept his kink as I saw it as a ‘beastiality’ of sorts. It wasn’t until he had a talk with Oliver that I started to see him as an actual not that bad of a guy. I’d be interested to see him find “the cat,” the cat that makes him want the human as much as he wants cats. And in a way, I do think he’s looking for that special cat, except he doesn’t know it yet.  Clove and Bounce were fun and I’m glad they had Goran’s back. As for Cin, ohhh lord, more like Sin, the little backstabbing cat. I think there’s a whole lot that we need to uncover with that one. Definitely needs some redeeming qualities, because right now he’s on my hit list.

giphy

Goran though happens to be my favorite. I loved how laid back he was about the whole cattery thing, sure he needed the money and would have done so for it, but he took it in stride and just had fun. But when Ollie and Goran get involved well, we’ve all seen how cats are with each other… And I think this two definitely needed each other. Maybe Ollie more than Goran, as Goran shoved him out of his comfort zone. But together they just shine even more, and I definitely want a little more on those two. I like the interaction as enemies and lovers, since they could never have enough of each other. 

Much like K.A. Merikan did with me, they shoved me out of the comfort zone, and I can say that this is what reading is all about. Exploring new worlds, and kinks….or something like that *wink* If you’re looking for a wild ride than you better visit The Cattery (I’m sure that will be the new headline).

1460392539021 (2)
Instagram Post

 

Ps. that cover lust! I have so many pictures!

Buy it Here| Instagram | Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter

Leave a Reply

