Finley (Sunset Cove #1) by Ella Frank

 

My rating: 4 hearts professor out of 5
Received: Own
Publication Date:March 22,2016
Publisher: Unknown
Point of View: Third Person (Finn & Brantley)
Genres & Themes: MM Romance, LGBTQ+, Romance, Contemporary, Professor/Student

BLURB:

It’s time to come home, Finn.

It’s been seven years since Daniel Finley left his hometown in Florida for the hustle and bustle of Chicago’s city life.
Since then, he’s worked hard for his position at the prestigious law firm Leighton & Associates, even when it’s caused distance and isolation from his family and friends. But that’s all about to change.

On his thirtieth birthday, he receives the one thing he never dared hope for. Something that was promised to him years earlier—a note. One simple sentence from the man he’s never been able to forget.

Six words will forever change the course of their lives.

Brantley Hayes has it all. Or so he thinks. When he first made the decision to take a job down in Florida, his family thought he was crazy. But, after years of living in the quiet beach town, he finally feels a sense of community. He’s surrounded himself with friends who are like family, has a job he loves, and owns a spectacular beachfront property that is his sanctuary.

Yet he still feels unfulfilled, as if a piece of the puzzle is missing, and he knows exactly which piece it is. On an impulse, he follows through with a promise he made years earlier. A promise to call home the one he sent away.

Nothing is as simple as it seems.

After years of separation, the former lovers are reunited, but Brantley wasn’t expecting to encounter the high walls now guarding Daniel’s heart.
Daniel may not be the same person he was when he left, but he knows that the first step to healing is the note in his hand.

REVIEW:

I’m the most petty person I know. Take for instance, if someone takes hours to text back, I take days. If someone takes days, I take weeks, you get the gist. But those are the minor leagues, think about me not talking to my 9 year old sister for three days because she told, “I don’t feel like talking,” and being rude. Take me sitting at 9 in the night in the shady side of the city in a bus stop after a night class because me and my mother weren’t talking, and when I say I’m prideful I mean it.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Can you find all the details?

So for me to read about a guy staying gone for 7 years because his lover sent him away to study when it wasn’t his choice, nor did he get any say… I can definitely see myself doing the exact same thing.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
“It’s time to come home, Finn.”

 

It all starts with a letter. Six words that changes everything.

Daniel Finley is not the same guy he was seven years ago. He’s not the same person that his professor, and lover, Brantley Hayes, sent away for a better future. A future that Brantley thought would only take 3 years and one he did  with the intention of Finley not missing out on the best that he could be. But Finley didn’t see it like that. He saw it as his lover making a decision for him and then threatening him that he would’t see him if he didn’t go.

“One thing you need to know about the man I’ve become, Professor Hayes”—he put a palm to the center of Brantley’s chest, and when he lay back against the rug, Daniel followed to tease his nipple with the tip of his tongue—“is that I like control. I like to be the one to decide what I’m doing in my life. That also extends here, to the bedroom. Will that work for you?” Brantley slowly nodded but otherwise remained silent until he bit his nipple and added, “Also, I’m a man of my word. Ten minutes. Is ten minutes.” 

Tate and Logan are one of the hottest couple out there, but Brantley and Daniel have join them and what steamy company that is. Finley is erotic as it is romantic, with banter and chemistry that flies off the chart. The way this two were with each other transcends beyond mere lust and sexual encounters, instead there this transcending love that has held on for seven years. What’s more is the way Ella Frank writes, how crafty she wove the past and present, for both their beginnings and to who Finley was and is now. And despite the differences and the changes, how the love is still the same, if not more so now.

“I hate what you did to us. I hate that you chose how we should end. And I fucking hate that you decided that my life was better off without you in it.”

Finn has this deep, ever-present anger that has been festering resentment despite having come back to Brantley. I think that was one of my only issues with the book and why I docked it to four stars. Because, despite my understanding of pettiness and prideness, I think that the prolonging of anger was far too long. I wanted Brantley to explain why, with the passage of time, he didn’t call him if he just expected it to last for the time his studies lasted. I wanted them to both acknowledge that the angst could’ve been cut short if they would have only called each other.

Because the truth that took Finn a while to realize was that as soon as he made the choice to go back to Florida, he was going back to Brantley for good. There was no getting him out of his system, it was more like finally going back to him with the intention of staying and loving him.

“We both know, once you touch me, there’s no way I’m going to be able to keep my hands off you. And I need to work out a way not to hate that I want that so fucking much.”

The tables have turned. Where once it was the professor that was the dominant one of the relationship, time and distance has changed that and the professor is more than loving in it. I think I highlighted three passages in every chapter, because 1. Finn has a very dirty mouth, and I was living for it. 2. Their tender and sweet moments were just as amazing as their sex and 3. banter (read as part of 2.’s sentence).

Finn and Brantley might not have beat Tate and Logan’s place in my heart, but they did give it a good run and I honestly just want them to go at it like kinky bunnies everyday. But more than that Ella Frank knows how to entice, because I cannot wait for Derek and Posh Spice. Like omg, do I want to know what happened between them and how hot the sex was, because something explosive definitely happened and I need the details ASAP. Mimosas included, btw.

 

“You’re it for me. You’re sexy, sophisticated, and so fucking it for me. I only looked at him because you weren’t in the room and he was a close second to what I really wanted.”

Some of you might remember Finn from Temptation when he was hitting on Tate & Logan, well there’s this very awesome alpha head-to-head moment with them all, and that little interlude is one that you won’t want to miss. *wink*

 

 

Add it to your Goodreads | Amazon Link ($3.99 for the first week!)| Follow me on this social medias: Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Goodreads

Also, check out the Temptation Series and come rave all about it with me!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

 

One thought on “Finley (Sunset Cove #1) by Ella Frank

Leave a Reply

