Book Review:Strong Signal (Cyberlove #1) by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell


Strong Signal (Cyberlove #1)My rating
: 5 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by author(s)
Publication Date:February 15, 2016
Publisher:
Point of View: 1st Person (Kai & Garrett)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, Military, Cyber, Contemporary

BLURB:

I was counting down the months until the end of my deployment. My days were spent working on military vehicles, and I spent my nights playing video games that would distract me until I could leave Staff Sergeant Garrett Reid behind.

That was when I met him: Kai Bannon, a fellow gamer with a famous stream channel.

I never expected to become fixated on someone who’d initially been a rival. And I’d never expected someone who oozed charm to notice me—a guy known for his brutal honesty and scowl. I hadn’t planned for our online friendship to turn into something that kept me up at night—hours of chatting evolving into filthy webcam sessions.

But it did. And now I can’t stop thinking about him. In my mind, our real life meeting is perfect. We kiss, we fall into bed, and it’s love at first sight.

Except, like most things in my life, it doesn’t go as planned.

*Strong Signal is a standalone, full-length novel with no cliffhanger*

REVIEW:

“Once we were more than pixelating images constantly disrupted by the satellite that could never hold a signal.”

In a world were everything is digitalized, this book is amazing. There so much negativity regarding our generation being absorbed by social media, but nobody takes a moment to be grateful for it. For the friendships and connection that we’re able to form through it. To think we can be friends with strangers from across the world in the click of a mouse. To realize that person might be going to sleep when you’re just waking up and then it takes seconds to communicate with them. It is amazing and awe-inspiring.

That basically summarizes this book: amazing and awe-inspiring. Sometimes you’ll hear about that couple that meet through Facebook, or tinder, or Grindr and you’ll be like one in a million, but that’s the thing—it is possible. In fact, everything is possible. Like falling for the guy who beat your noob ass, who was really a famous gamer, and then you went to tell him off, but ended up head over heels with his beautiful looks and fun personality.

“The worst part was, I wouldn’t have even answered my own email. It was ridiculous and amounted to not  more than “I was creeping on you and got creeped out to see that other people are doing the same!”

Kai and Garrett had me feeling all kinds of feels. They made me laugh, and ‘aww,’ and they made me feel all kinds of steaminess. And I could relate to Kai, on so many levels. Sometimes the internet is this safe bubble that welcomes you with open arms, and when you’re in the real world it seems like an interlude or a pause until you’re back home. But, life can be just as amazing, and once you realize how beautiful it is, things can’t ever be the same.

Garrett: Watching you. In person. Steady escalation from there.

Kai: Escalation in increments? 😉

Garrett: Yup. First I watch. Then I jerk off with you. Then we jerk each other. Then I kiss you.

Kai: That seems like a de-escalation

Garrett: Not the way I kiss.

This two. From the beginning they hooked me and I thought it couldn’t get any better. Until it did, and then it kept getting better and better. Their coming together is one for the books, the type of story that is quiet epic, in my opinion. And as they got to know each other, well, things got…hot. Like damn, this is the things fanfics are made out of. Like now I want ficlets of all the times Kai and Garrett got down long distance era. I don’t want to spoil anything, because experiencing is an experience in itself and I’m just cheering this writing duo if this is what they cook up, because it leaves me speechless and rereading the scenes not once or twice, but four times.

“Your present is attached in the form of an MP4 file, and is a video of me touching my dick. I never claimed to be a romantic.”

Kai and Garrett connect, in every way. The bring out the best in each other, and they show each other that some people aren’t so bad.  Even more is that you can see how deep (no pun intended) they are. The distance didn’t diminish their connecting or their chemistry, instead they upped their interactions.

“What did scare me was the possibility of Kai not wanting me in person. Of him realizing how stoic I could be. How I tended to hold things close to the vest. How overprotective and paranoid I got sometimes. When he realized that I’d fallen in love with him via the Internet while across the world.

But this two have their issues to resolve, things that they need to deal with. Kai is this gorgeous, fun guy who is a hermit in real life. When he says hermit, he means it. And social anxiety is one hell of a b…if you know what I mean. I completely understand how he feels, sometimes when you stay inside to long it seems to safe to want to go out, that when you do it’s a sensory overload. Be assured that there is no magical penis is this story and Santino and Megan treated this issue with realistic and the seriousness it merited, whilst also serving some serious discussion on it.

This was internet 101. Never expect the person you’re chatting with to be the same person they are in real life.”

Whereas Garrett also had things to overcome and heal. The internet came a blessed place, but it can also be dangerous and when something burns you, you’ll never really heal. From that one incident it has pretty much defined some of his misconceptions, and like Kai he has to deal with that.

“I’m a total loser.”

I smacked his ass hard. “Stop that.”

Kai wiggled his ass. “If I say it again, will you spank me? I might like it.”

Strong Signal had the signature of two talented writers that know how to spin an entrancing and captivating story. They managed to make you believe that anything can happen, while at the same time writing some well written, if not scorching, sex scenes whether there is…penetration, or not. Readers be warned: you’re in for a fun ride.

I’m eagerly awaiting this dynamic duo’s next installment, because if this book is any indication of their writing as a team then wow! (I’ll be waiting for a while since this one has even’t been published)

KinderKid: don’t break up my OTP!!!!!!!

KinderKid speaking for me, lets be real.

Favorite Quotes:

“Hey, I’ll be right back, guys! We have to, err, discuss Chat etiquette and stuff.”

“Or the etiquette of me stretching out your ass.”

“I wanted to crawl through the screen, straddle his lap, kiss those lips until his beard rubbed my chin raw, until we were both breathless, until I remembered what it was like to be touched again.”

“You bring this side out in me.” His friendship, his desire for me, was everything. I swallowed thickly, my voice hoarse as I said, “You are too.”

“But all I could do was grip the door, suck in a deep breath, and slam it in his face.”

*Quotes taking from unpublished version, and are subject to change*

bg copy

Add it to you TBR Goodreads shelf here ! Check out http://fuckyeahkaibannon.tumblr.com/!

One thought on “Book Review:Strong Signal (Cyberlove #1) by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell

Leave a Reply

