Book Review: If The Seas Catch Fire by L.A. Witt

If The Seas Catch Fire

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: January 1, 2016
Publisher: Lori Witt
Point of View: Third Person (Sergei & Dom )
Genres & Themes: MM Romance, LGBTQ+, Dark

BLURB:

Sergei Andronikov was a child when the Mafia wiped out his family, leaving him with nothing but a hunger for revenge. Years later, through ruthless strategy and tireless patience, he’s a contract killer working for the three families ruling Cape Swan… and he’s nearly in position to bring them all down from the inside.

Domenico “Dom” Maisano is Mafia royalty, a made man… and a hitman. He’s caught up in a violent life he can’t escape, struggling to maintain an image he doesn’t want, and suppressing desires he can’t have.

A chance encounter throws the killers into each other’s paths. Though Dom knows he’s playing a dangerous game, he’s intrigued and keeps coming back. Sergei can’t resist him either—Dom is everything he set out to destroy, but he’s also everything he’s ever ached for in a man.

Then Sergei gets the contract he’s been waiting for—the hit that promises to bring the town’s Mafia to its knees.

But when a capo makes an unexpected move, Sergei must choose between dropping the hammer on the families he vowed to annihilate, and protecting the man he swore he wouldn’t love.

And the wrong choice—or even the right one—will destroy them both.

REVIEW:

“You do know it’s dangerous being with me like this, right?”

Dom, you have no idea…

Sergei just nodded. “Yeah. I do.”

“But you keep coming back.”

“Yeah.” Sergei leaned in and brushed his lips across Dom’s. “I do.”

L.A Witt knocked this one out of the park. I might have to reevaluate my aversion to “dark” books, because if this is what constitutes as such then I might turn into a huge fan. If The Seas Catch Fire is a sexy, on-the-edge of your seat, thrilling ride.

I love books/movies/tv-shows that test the line between good and evil. The ones that push and then go there, when you think they’re bluffing and at the end pull back. If The Seas Catch Fire doesn’t not mess around, and it especially doesn’t bluff.

Sergei Andronikov and Domeni Maisano are one hot duo, and I wouldn’t, at all, mind seeing this two kick some ass in the future as a literal power couple. Individual these two are a force to be reckon with: Sergei as a stripper by night, a killer by day and Dom, the one nobody ever suspects.

“What happened that night? I rubbed my ass all over a couple of dicks. Some Italian guy showed up in an alley with blood all over his fancy suit. And I rubbed my ass all over some more dicks.”

I’ve watched a ton of tv shows and movies, and when I see that do not take it lightly. I’m very diverse in what I watch, but I’ve watched extensive amount of crime shows, and I’m talking about both sides to it. The police side and the perpetrator side to things. Something that always left me somewhat disappointed was that the ‘evil’ side of it would always be stopped before the crime would be executed, and for some reason that irked me. Not because I wanted the crime to happen, but because it wasn’t realistic and because they didn’t dare go there. That whole ‘good always wins.’

In If The Seas Catch Fire things are a bit different. I’m not talking about good and evil here, but what I was most stuck on was, “Will they go there?” and boy was I not at all disappointed. They went there and beyond. And I loved every second of it. Sergei didn’t hesitate and it was thrilling in some ways how you’d be reading and for a split second you’d be no, he won’t and then the sentence will come without preamble as if nothing was amiss, as if there wasn’t any question, and be executed. The same goes with Dom. You would think that at some point they would not cross that line, but they kept going and going. The amazing thing is that at every second I was enjoying that ride.

Even when the impossible came, and I thought this was the point when both would pull back, when that miraculous thing that would save them from doing something they couldn’t come back from would happen, it didn’t. L.A. Witt pushed and pushed, but she delivered. She made you feel every type of emotion: the helplessness, the tension, the exhilaration, the hope, the hotness in each sex scene, the inevitable, everything. And you’ll take everything Sergei and Dom gives you.

“Apparently small dicks weren’t mandatory for Maisanos after all.”

Talking about taking…..these two took everything from each other and it was hot to watch. From the beginning they are hot and by each passing encounter they get hotter and hotter. Sergei lap dancing needs to be a thing this two make on a daily basis. The way they fall for each other and the way they need each other is just something short of dammmn.

In all, I’d read a thousand more pages of this two getting it on and kicking some mafia ass and whatever else needs kicking. I recommend you start this year with a hell of a book and this is it.

Buy it here!

Check me out in Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a Reply

