Book Review: Tied to Trouble (Gamers #3) by Megan Erickson

Tied to Trouble (Gamers #3)My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by Netgalley
Publication Date:January 4th 2016
Publisher:Entangled: Brazen
Point of View: Third Person (Chad & Owen)
Genres & Themes: MM Romance, LGBTQ+, Contemporary,

BLURB:

Chad Lake only showed up at his sister’s party for the free food, but when he spots an uptight nerd at the edge of the crowd, he can’t resist trying to ruffle the guy’s perfect bow tie and impeccable hair. The hottie’s ready for him, though, and in the end, it’s Chad who’s left wide-eyed, his ears still ringing with the filthy things Bow Tie whispered in his ear. No one gets the upper hand on Chad. Ever.

Owen Hawkins has heard all about the cocky Adonis from Chad’s sister—the same sister who holds Owen’s career advancement in her hands. He has every intention of steering clear of the other man…until Chad’s sexy taunts push him too far. There’s something intriguing about Chad, and even though Owen knows that getting tangled up with the infuriating man is trouble, he can’t seem to stay away…

**This is part of an M/F series but can be read as standalone**

REVIEW:

“He even wore a bow tie, for God’s sake—and not in the tacky Chippendales homage way like Chad sported at Blue Moon Bar.”

The Dapper Dick, that’s all you need to know. Plus fan art, hell yes. I held off until the end of the book to see it and I wasn’t disappointed.

If my year started off with this book, then it’d be looking pretty good. As it is I’m ending it with one amazing read. Tied  to Trouble was wrapped up in laughs, unexpected kinks, and just the perfect amount of angst for this characters to overcome and fight through.

Chad and Owen definitely took my by surprised, as they each did with each other. They’re more than meets the eye, and they’re constantly saying things that had me shaking my head…in a good way, and by the end of the novel I had to admit they both are beyond charming and amusing.

“Well, I like your dick, and you like my ass. You don’t have to fuck my personality.”

For Chad and Owen, things aren’t perfect sailing at the beginning. They just annoy the hell out of each other which leads to some steamy sex scenes, like in a bookstore, but doesn’t not translate to the afterglow. At first, I didn’t quiet get why they were so snappy with each other, but each of them have their own issues that they have to go through. They’re both deeply flawed, and that doesn’t make for a good mindset for relationships.

Owen isn’t a meek geek, oh no. I loved that this story broke that mold, because I completely loved every part that made Owen’s character. They way he was aggressive once the bow tie came off, and off it did.

“Oh, so we’re public fuckers?

No, we’re forget-the-bed, gotta-have-you-now fuckers.”

This book with its bow ties and usage of them had me laughing out loud, I’m being quiet literal about it. Especially the ‘nerdy cock ring,’ I give it an A+ for creativity and I wish there had been some fan art about that because. Hot.

“You think I’ll ever be able to wear that thing knowing what we did?

Chad stiffed it farther down into his pocket. “Why, because it’s soiled now? Tainted? You can just wash it.”

Another thing I loved about this book was Chad wanting to go back to school. How it wasn’t this magical decision of going back, without an actual plan, and actual problems with that decision. He had to think about money, and that feeling of going back at an older age. Ultimately, I loved that he finally came to it because he wanted to do it. Not to impress Owen, or to stop being the carefree wild brother, but because he was ready for it, and wanted it.

“You’re a lot of things. And whoever reduces you to one word isn’t worth your time.”

The communication with this pair is a little rocky, and I loved when Owen put his foot down and said, “No, we’re talking about this.” Because I think with really prideful people, like myself, that’s a huge problem. Not wanting to let someone in, and being afraid once it happens. Like I mentioned they’re both flawed, but the communication problems were about miscommunication, but about a person who has to work on how he sees himself and how he thinks others see him, about commitment and it was handled very believable. That although I got pissed at Chad for some decisions, I got where he was coming for. Also, that the decisions they made weren’t the ones I though they’d make.

In all, Tied to Trouble was an enjoyable read that left me all happy, with a new appreciation to what you can do with bow ties, and definitely on the look out for more on this author.

Can’t wait to hear what everyone thinks about this book.

Other Favorite Quotes:

“To not think about the time he tied himself to trouble.”

“Owen’s green, polka-dotted bow tie was around his dick. Like a nerdy cock ring.”

Links: Amazon| Goodreads| Tumblr | Twitter

Leave a Reply

