Book Review: Not Safe for Work by L.A. Witt

Not Safe For Work

My rating: 3.80 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by Netgalley
Publication Date:December 15th 2015
Publisher:Samhain Publishing
Point of View: 1st Person (Jon)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, LGBTQA+, BDSM, Erotica

BLURB:

They’re a match made in the dungeon…until their secret gets out.

Bored senseless in a meeting, architectural modeler Jon McNeill amuses himself with a kinky dating app on his phone. Then the app matches him with another user…who’s six feet away. Suddenly Jon finds himself on the same page as someone way above his pay grade: millionaire property developer Rick Pierce. His firm’s biggest—and hottest—client.

The app isn’t kidding either. They’re a perfect match. Jon’s a Dom, Rick’s a sub, and bondage is their thing. Both guys are well into their forties, know their way around the bedroom, and definitely appreciate a good suit. And the best part? They’re a match outside the bedroom too.

But office relationships aren’t easy to keep a secret. When the truth comes out, Jon is certain he’s about to get fired. Instead, his bosses throw him a curve ball—an ultimatum that puts both his job and his relationship in jeopardy.

Warning: Contains literal and figurative sex machines, blindfolds, a sub being punished during a business meeting, enough rope to tangle up a millionaire, and a Golden Girls marathon.

REVIEW

:

“Searching for Kinky Singles In your Area…”

Okay, that’s really what caught my attention, there’s no shame here. I’m going to admit to quite a few things right now. Ready? The truth is that I read this book over a month ago. In fact, I read it in less than three days (mind you, I was super busy then). I still don’t know why I didn’t write a review, when I clearly scheduled it in and everything. This might not have any affect whatsoever, but there it is.

Not Safe For Work intrigued me since I read kinky app, the fact that the MCs are over 40, and the boss/employee dynamic. Not to mention that the boss in this case is the submissive.

I especially loved how real they were, how real their lives and everyday was. This were men with problems and a life, and it read as such. There’s just a bit of everything in this novel. The BDSM was light and for those who don’t want to venture to far into the “intense” side.

Jon and Rick were the right balance of everything. Romance in books is my favorite part, and I have no shame in wanting and waiting for it, but I love a good build up, a good pair. What L.A. Witt did was that she gave us the reason this two work so well together despite the inappropriate nature of their relationship. Rick despite being the boss at work stepped down in the bed, and that worked because those two communicated and understood each other, knew what they wanted from each other. And Rick was the perfect combo of submissive and understanding, seriously, I would have loved to get his POV just because of how refreshing he was.

“Because you were so caught up in telling me how afraid you are to lose this relationship, you didn’t even notice that you came out to me.”

There is some angst and drama that I spotted a mile away, and at times I couldn’t understand Jon’s decisions and reasoning behind said decisions. Then again we’re all different and we need all kind of characters so we can be diverse in our readings. I did want the kids to appear and just speak up for themselves. Jon thought he had to take care of everyone, and I think that sometimes parents have to let kids go and make their own way, and Jon didn’t quite come to that realization. Thankfully, Jon’s ex wife wasn’t how M/M usually portrays the woman.

Meanwhile, I was on edge because I just knew. A tip: if you’re doing something you’re not supposed to, please don’t let your guard down.

Also, why did Mitchell always appear every time that Jon and Rick interacted? Smells bit stalkers to me. And also, a clue.

Okay, I have one more confession: It was until I was about 60% in the novel and the Not Safe for Work Zone kept being thrown around that I connected it to the novel. *facepalm*

“It wasn’t my first wedding ring, but for the first time, I felt like this would be my last one.”

L.A. Witt delivers and I’m sure fans of her work will love this novel. It’s available for pre-order!

Leave a Reply

