Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry OnMy rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: October 06, 2015
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Point of View: First Person (Simon, Snow, Penny, Agatha, Lucy, the Mage)
Genres & Themes: LGBTQ, Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Romance

BLURB:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters

REVIEW:

Image from my tumblr

Carry On quickly became recognized as the book written based on fanfiction in fictional world written by Rainbow Rowell. Follow me here, guys. Rainbow Rowell introduced the world of Carry On in her novel Fangirl. The world of Watford was supposed to stand in the way that we have Harry Potter, which doesn’t not mean that she wrote fanfiction based on HP, merely wanted a series that would be widely recognized in her fictional world, much like ours. In the that world the writer was Gemma, and Cath wrote fanfiction with the pairing of Simon and Baz.

I’ll be honest, the only reason I read Cath’s fanfiction is because I’m always pairing m/m (you could probably guess by the books I read) and I wanted fanfiction to be recognized because I’m a fan of it, and exposure is like, “Hey! That’s me. Same, bro.” Instead, I felt like it wasn’t true to fanfiction. Fanfic writers don’t skirt around a pairing, they merely create tension and blatantly give us the pairing. When we write fanfic is because we’re dissatisfied with what the mainstream is giving us, and we have solace in our own fictional world. Cath missed that, it was like she wanted to be subtle, and by doing that she was 50+ chapters in without an ounce of pairing insight. I think that’s why most people got bored reading the supposedly fanfic. Because it never felt like it.

Carry On was what was missing on Fangirl, what I wanted all along and more. And no one, not Gemma or Cath, could have wrote that novel but Rainbow Rowell. Given the story Simon and Baz deserved.

Image from: my tumblr

  

“You have to pretend that you get an endgame. You have to carry on like you will; otherwise, you can’t carry on at all.”

Simon Snow has been prophesied, declared to be the Chosen One, for centuries. He’s the type of guy who is merely going by, waiting for his life to end, or for his life to start were he to survive that is. When he was 11, the Mage came to get him so he could save the World of Mages from what was destined to be the greatest threat to the world of Mages. I completely fell for Simon, who hasn’t had much since he was born. Never knowing his parents, or if he had one, he’s spent classes at Watford and summers at Homes. I loved how you learn so much from who he is from how he loves eating, and what he misses the most during his away time from Watford, like even his uniform because it’s stability. Despite his unlucky life and destiny, he doesn’t begrudges it, merely want to protect those he cares about, and even after all the bad things in his short life he’s so full of trust and love.

“And I’m hopelessly in love with him.”

Did I mention Simon’s obsession Baz Pitch? Honestly, how Simon and Baz didn’t realize his feeling for him is beyond me. This is the type of books I’ve been wanting for so long. The mainstream type of books with gay characters. Baz and Simon were adorable and beautiful and just squealing worthy. I was wondering how the story would go and I was never disappointed, instead it quickly became recognizable that this would become one of my favorite books.Guys, the chosen one is gay,yes.

“Baz’s eyes are usually the kind of grey that happens when you mix dark blue and dark green together. Deep-water grey.”

Tyrannus Basilton Pitch-Grimm was this quick witted, totally smitten in love with Simon, badass vampire. He starts off as this stand-offish enigmatic guy and turns into an endearing, will do anything Simon says, still witty vampire.

Penelope, Penny, is amazing as well and I can’t wait until she rules over the World of Mages. Agatha despite some of her decision, is great, too. She’s this fresh character who doesn’t like magic all that much, and questions, which is always good. And really, she has to make her own choices and live the life she chooses and wants.

This book gave me so many feels, and by the end I just wanted the epilogue with Baz and Simon snuggling in a couch and becoming the adorable domestic couple they surely will become, but alas it had to end.

Simon snow is going to die kissing me.”

The way Rainbow Rowell took on the role of Chosen One will leave you crying and just hurting for Simon, because there is so much he doesn’t know, and he deserves to know, he deserves everything. Everything makes senses by the end and it is such an interesting twist of events. My only quibble with this book was why include Lucy the way it was written if Simon didn’t find out. Also, sometimes the different voices didn’t sound so different. At times I had to go see whose chapter it was because they sounded the same.

Carry On was filled with magic, intrigue and a proper love story and this is going into my favorites and will probably reread it many times over. Goodreads, when is the reread option coming?

“Go on, then,” he says. “Carry on, Simon.”

FAVORITE QUOTES:

“Sharing a room with the person you want most is like sharing a room with an open fire.”

“There’s nothing remarkable about Snow’s eyes. They’re standard size and shape. A little pouchy. And his eyelashes are stubby and dark brown.His eyes aren’t even a remarkable colour. Just blue. Not cornflower. Not navy. Not shot with hazel or violet.

He blinks them at me. Sammering. I feel myself blushing.

“Those were my fifth-year fantasies: kisses and blood and Snow ridding the world of me.”

The truth is, I’m desperately attracted to you.” And then I imagine myself spitting in his face. And then I imagine licking it off his cheek and kissing him. (Because I’m disturbed. Ask anyone.)

“And doesn’t fall! He floats out over the moat and lands on the other side. It’s the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen.”

“Snow could light fires in my palms at this point, and I wouldn’t pull away. It feels like he has.”

“Why? So we can tumble around and kiss and pretend to be happy boyfriends?”

He shakes his head, like he’s at his limit, then rolls his eyes mightily. “Yeah…I guess so. Yes. Let’s do that, okay?

By the way, I got fortunate and got the Pre-order Party Kit!:

 Party over at Watford with the party kit #CarryOnThank you, @griffinteen. I’m getting tattooed soon.

Image from: my tumblr

Last words?

Leave a Reply

