Book Review: How To Be A Normal Person by T.J. Klune

How To Be A Normal Person

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: October 16, 2015
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Point of View: Third Person (Gus)
Genres & Themes: LGBTQ, M/M Romance, Funny, Contemporary, Grief

BLURB:

Gustavo Tiberius is not normal. He knows this. Everyone in his small town of Abby, Oregon, knows this. He reads encyclopedias every night before bed. He has a pet ferret called Harry S. Truman. He owns a video rental store that no one goes to. His closest friends are a lady named Lottie with drag queen hair and a trio of elderly Vespa riders known as the We Three Queens.

Gus is not normal. And he’s fine with that. All he wants is to be left alone.

Until Casey, an asexual stoner hipster and the newest employee at Lottie’s Lattes, enters his life. For some reason, Casey thinks Gus is the greatest thing ever. And maybe Gus is starting to think the same thing about Casey, even if Casey is obsessive about Instagramming his food.

But Gus isn’t normal and Casey deserves someone who can be. Suddenly wanting to be that someone, Gus steps out of his comfort zone and plans to become the most normal person ever.

After all, what could possibly go wrong?

REVIEW:

Indescribable emotion photo mf_el_undescribableemotion.gif

I really wanted to read this book, counting down the days and everything. It hits me then as I’m reading it that I expected to hate it, to want to completely shred it. Instead, I get to laugh and shake my head and be in awe in the way T.J Klune writes, and the best thing is to completely ship the hell out of this two amazing guys who completely belong with each other, oh my god.

There’s about 30 bookmarks in this book, and I’m sitting here about to go through them I can’t make myself type everything out because I think you should experience them for yourselves, that’s how enjoyable and lovely I found this book. A book that represents LGBTQ+.  How to be a Normal Person is about an awkward, somewhat antisocial, video-store owner, his three polyamorous lesbian sisters (?) and an asexual stoner.

It’s a book laden with laughter, friendship and love, and so much more. Despite the blurb and the label to the asexual character it wasn’t focused on that, and I loved that about this book. He was asexual and that was that, and Gus knew it and didn’t care about it or focus on it, or tried to get the guy to sleep with him or see if there was some gray area. Like it says in the book there’s different asexual people, a whole spectrum, in fact.

I completely fell in love with every character, from Gus’ best friends who were a hoot, to Lottie, and to Casey’s crew and definitely with Casey and Gus. Gus was so fleshed out, with his quirks and love, I mean hate, for alliteration and him saying,“oh my god” so much it bled into my every thought.

Gustavo Tiberius, a totally normal guy, was endearing despite his eyebrows of judgement, and there is not enough room to gush about it and the way he feels life. The book wasn’t only about romance, it was also about his grief for his father, who was amazing, as well. And I have a headcannon that that’s where Gus got his oh my god phrase from.
When I thought about Gus and Casey I could totally see an instafamous couple story that I’d go crazy shipping and probably following their relationship progress and journey. The romance was just beautiful, and I could feel the love they both had for each other.

Also, if you’re still unsure whether to read it or not, then just read it for this amazing scene that has Gus talking to Casey’s friend and they do an improv. commercial scene that involves soup, going away to college, and murdering their father…..and scene. A scene within a scene. Sceneception.

Oh, did I mention Harry S. Truman—Gus’s ferret? And playing scrabble when they’re stoned that lead to the most romantic thing I’ve ever read? And about the best hugs in the world? And amazing monkey movies and titles?

Also: WHAT WAS THAT ENDING, T.J. Klune?
Recommend it? Can’t do it enough!

Remember:

“You are exactly the way you’re supposed to be”

Buy it here!

Leave a Reply

