Book Review: The Half of Us by Cardeno C.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by Netgalley
Publication Date: October 13, 2015 (2nd Edition)
Publisher: The Romance Authors
Point of View: Third Person (Jason & Abe)
Genres & Themes: MM Romance, LGBTQ, Contemporary, Family

BLURB:

Short-tempered, arrogant heart surgeon Jason Garcia grew up wanting a close-knit family, but believes he ruined those dreams when he broke up his marriage. The benefit of divorce is having as much random sex as he wants, and it’s a benefit Jason is exploiting when he meets a sweet, shy man at a bar and convinces him to go home for a no-strings -attached night of fun.

Eight years living in Las Vegas hasn’t dimmed Abe Green’s optimism, earnestness, or desire to find the one. When a sexy man with lonely eyes propositions him, Abe decides to give himself a birthday present—one night of spontaneous fun with no thoughts of the future. But one night turns into two and then three, and Abe realizes his heart is involved.

For the first time, Abe feels safe enough with someone he respects and adores to let go of his inhibitions in the bedroom. If Jason can get past his own inhibitions and open his heart and his life to Abe, he might finally find the family he craves.

REVIEW:

Have you ever wished you could forget how a story made you feel, just so you could feel as if it was the first time again? There’s something about reading a book for the first time that is just so thrilling and full of possibilities. Think of your favorite book, or one of your favorite books, and try to imagine how you felt as you fell in love with it, the parts that made you say, “This. This book will stay with me for the rest of my life.” But when you reread it, is it the same? Is anything the same after the second or third of fourth time?

Half of Us was that for me. The blank slate, reacquainting myself completely with a book I had once read. The thing is, I requested this book on Netgalley, not knowing that I had read it a couple months back. The name rang familiar, but then so do many of C. Cardeno’s book, since I see them in Goodreads a lot.

“I want to do this again,” Jason admitted quietly.

“I want to do it for the first time,” Abe responded.

This book had life. I read the synopsis and automatically I said, “Duh! You can’t just eff him out of your system. We all know how this story ends.” Cardeno must have said excuse me, this is my story, somewhere out there, because she showed me there was more to the story than that. I laughed and I fell in love with Abe and Jason. Then, I had my moments of anger and shock, and tell me more, right now!

I fell under Abe’s spell. He such a genuine person, full of life and laughter and it was impossible for Jason not to fall for this awesome guy.

“With Jason, Abe flourished, including the parts of himself he usually kept locked down and hidden away, and for the first time in his life, he felt whole.”

I think both of them grew up quite a lot with each other. Abe found what had been missing with his other lovers, learned what it meant to be in love and what sex could truly be. Jason matured, and he got a guy who didn’t put up with his shit, but understood him and just was a pillar when it was chaos around him. Tell me if that’s not what love is?

We also get background, which sometimes is forgotten in novels. I love how it was paced, little this that seemed inconsequential in the beginning, boil up in the middle, and explode in the end. An explosion you’ll definitely want to read, and you’ll get angry, but Cardeno handled it perfectly. Love how she doesn’t gloss it over and sheds some awesome advice. Remember, lovelies, therapy helps.

There’s also what happened with Jason, and I just want to further point out that it is not okay to cheat on someone, even more use another person when you’re still in the closet. And on top of that, use them as cover and then cheat on them. I think the situation was super messy, but like I said Jason grows up and I don’t want to give too much away, but I love the subject introduced in this novel.

“Your three favorite things all at the same time,” Abe said with a strained laugh. His balls ached.

“Hanging out with you, fucking you, and eating dinner with you? Jason asked in confusion.

“College basketball, pizza, and fucking,” Abe reminded him.

I’m so glad I decided to read this story again, because I am not kidding when I tell you that it felt like the first time, I might have loved it this time around more than the first.

Definitely recommend!

Have you ever accidentally picked up a book you had already read?

Leave a Reply

