Throwback Friday Book Review: The Edge of Always (The Edge of Never #2) by J.A. Redmerski

The Edge of Always (The Edge of Never, #2)My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided by Netgalley
Publication Date: January 14th 2014 (first published January 1st 2013)
Publisher: Forever
Point of View: 1st Person (Andrew
Genres & Themes: New Adult, Contemporary, Road Trip, Romance

BLURB:

Five months ago, Camryn and Andrew, both dealing with personal hardships, met on a Greyhound bus. They fell in love and proved that when two people are meant to be together, fate will find a way to make it happen.

Now, in the highly anticipated sequel to The Edge of Never, Camryn and Andrew are pursuing their love for music and living life to the fullest as they always swore to do. But when tragedy befalls them, their relationship is put to the ultimate test. As Camryn tries to numb her pain, Andrew makes a bold decision: To get their life back on track, they’ll set out on another cross-country road trip. Together they find excitement, passion, adventure-and challenges they never could have anticipated.

REVIEW:

”..because we’ll always live on the edge until the day we die.”

Until that sentence, I didn’t understand the book’s title, and I couldn’t agree with it more. For this is truly what Andrew and Camryn’s life is all about living on the edge of forever, with life, with themselves, with each other.

Prior to my review I hypothesized what the ‘tragedy’ would be, call it the detective in my (all those detective shows) and I drew to the right conclusion but did it take anything away from my experience? Not at all.

The Edge of Always was a beautiful continuation to The Edge of Never, a story of loss, moments of weaknesses, the true meaning of being there for each other in the best and the worst times, being afraid of conforming to society ideals, and ultimately not succumbing to one’s fears, and persevering.

For Andrew and Camryn I think there is no greater place than on the road. On a journey. To where? To anywhere. I think I said it in my last review or to a passing listener, but I connect on this level with this duo. I’d love to go and travel, to not be tied to a routine. See, I’ve always been afraid of that, of a monotonous life; wake up, get dressed, go to work, come home, watch tv, sleep, repeat. It sounds so boring, and like your wasting your life away. So I understand, and I couldn’t applaud them for going after what they wanted, even when some would see as them being crazy. They weren’t.

As for the flaws of the books? It was filled with them, that being their minor mistakes, moments of weakness, letting their guard down, Camryn’s incessant worry, their nostalgia, depression, but guess what? That is life. True life. We might want to go and seize the day, but not everything is that easy. We can’t and often don’t have an epiphany and instantly concur that life will go as plan and that we’ll beat all obstacles. We have to fight every day, and if we’re lucky we have someone by our sides. Luckily, Camryn had Andrew.


Andrew and Camryn really do love each other, there isn’t a question about that. Their love didn’t waver, it didn’t wane, or lose sight of what was true. And above all other they fought. For each other, for the other, for their sanity, for their love.

“Because everybody that I love tends to leave me, or die.”

There so much that I highlighted, and so many aspects that I want to rave and rant about but I venture that you should read it and find out for yourselves. There some points in this books that deals with the past, that being Camryn’s depression and how she figures her losses should be dealt with and those are the parts that touch the heart.

We met on the road; we grew to know and to love each other on the road. It’s where we were meant to be for however long, and it’s what we’re going to do until it because clear that we weremeant to do something else.”

Quick notes: It wasn’t perfect as the first novel, but I think it was realistic enough to be equally as beautiful. There were moments where I was angry with Camryn, but that’s what happens in real life. No one is perfect. I laughed at that hallway running scene. And I smiled with that Epilogue. J.A Redmerski, you are wonderful in all the ways that count.

Source: ARC from Netgalley


I’ll dedicate Friday’s in my blog to throwback reviews and in some way I’ll be transferring reviews prior to my having a blog. Hope you enjoy my thoughts!

My Links:

Tumblr

Twitter

Goodreads ( I accept anyone)

Leave a Reply

