Book Review: Unsaid (The Manhattanites #3) by Avery Aster

Unsaid (The Manhattanites, #3)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: ARC provided via NetGalley
Publication Date: September 1st 2015
Publisher: Unknown
Point of View: 3rd Person (Blake, Miguel and Lex)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, LGBTQA+, Erotica, Kinky

BLURB:

For fans who loved the snarky wit of Will & Grace and the epic love drama found in Brokeback Mountain comes Avery Aster’s new full-length, standalone contemporary M/M romance novel, Unsaid.

Chelsea’s hottie Blake Morgan III has reemerged from a nasty breakup. His marriage was a frigid disaster beyond repair, and he vows to be single—forever. Bruised, but still hot in Prada, he creates his Seven Desires wish list, his sexiest imaginings. Blake soon realizes there’s only one man he may trust to make these uninhibited intentions come to fruition: his best friend Miguel Santana.

Lower East Side multimedia artist extraordinaire Miguel Santana may be known as the cocky Latin stud in the city, but all he’s wanted since college was Blake’s hand in marriage. He was livid when Blake walked down the aisle with the wrong guy. Miguel has his own list titled the Seven Needs, which are quite contrary to Blake’s dirty-boy deeds. They involve serious commitments, which may leave his new-to-the-singles-scene buddy sprinting for the door, destroying any hopes Miguel has for happiness.

Can these two hunks conquer their intimate fears and love one another as only best friends can? Join the star-studded cast in The Manhattanites series and see for yourself!

REVIEW:

“Sentiments like ‘I’m in love with you’ are better left…unsaid.”

What happens when you stumble upon a book you just can’t get into? There’s too many, is the answer. But, I’ll name a few: you can throw the book across the street, and pick it up and dump in the recycling bin, you can throw the book against a wall and leave it there in shame, you can vow to never open it again, you can return it and get your money, or you can continue to read it in hopes of it getting better because the first couple of chapters might just be a fluke and it’ll get better. *deep breath* Which do you think I choose, in my masochistic tendencies? If you choose the latter, then you’d be right.

See, the thing is that this was a book that I chanced reading, Avery Aster’s book have appeared in the M/M reads on Goodreads for quite some time, it probably was the blue cover and it might have belonged to XO, Blake. I don’t know, but the reason I chose to read Unsaid was because of the author, and the M/M aspect, so I said why not? I’m open to anything (yeah, even the watersport aspect, this ensued many snapchat session with my best friend) I said.

I don’t judge a book by how long it takes me to read. I’ve read some of my favorites in hours, days, and even once a week, so if it takes me a while to get through a book I don’t peg as it being tedious or boring, but with this book I just knew. I knew that something was right, with me at least. I get where the author was going with this novel. Though they didn’t tag it to the series, it gave me the impression that it wanted that level of friendship and wittiness, and that’s Sex and the City. Will and Grace are witty, and theres’s a friendship that doesn’t break, or it does, but it’s merely bent. So with this novel and the series the author was going for that; that group of friends that must of us want, the ones that party and do all kinds of crazy stuff, but they’re all there to support the other. Then there’s the witty banter that we all hope we could deliver at every turn. Let’s not forget the drama, the romantic and the personal one.

Did the book deliver? No. No, no, no.First, let me warn you that this is multiple POV; the main characters, Miguel and Blake, and Lex, who I guess had the previous book to herself. I didn’t know that, nor did I want it. The plot was almost nonexistent, certainly not necessary. At least not the ones in the book. Sure, Blake’s was a bit interesting, but even that just felt dreary. Then with the Lex twist, I rolled my eyes way to hard at that one. Get out of here with that, seriously like what…

Anyway, Miguel has liked Blake for a decade, but things quickly change when Blake is getting married to a guy the group despises. Fast forward 5 years and Blake is divorced and jaded. He’s a changed man, no longer does he believe in true love or in marriage, and he especially doesn’t believe in relationships, but a guy has needs, don’t they?

“Blake’s Sex Wish List.”

Everyone has fantasies, right? Take mine, for instance, I want to be financially stable, with a good loft, and my publishing career to be in one of the top publishing houses. Blake’s in a tad bit different. I mean, he changed financially stable for dominance, a good loft for a good face f….and my publishing career for a bit of a golden shower.

The thing is that’s not what made this novel a bad reading experience for me. I don’t care about whatever kink the guy has because the scenes weren’t long, and it isn’t anything I haven’t read about before, but what got to me was quite a few cons:

From Taddy to Vive to Massimo, I just disliked them all. They all have this prissy and nasty attitude towards each other. One moment they would be praising the other and the next the be tearing the other down. Vive all of a sudden started being a jerk to Lex, never mind the fact that at times she was a horrible friend to Lex. Massimo was this controlling jerk towards Lex, who just took it because he was hot.

Oh lord, the Spanish. Pro tip: Bueno is not the word you use, by the way. Try bien! If writers are going to write about something they don’t know they have to research and not just google translate. And not just insert one Spanish word in every single sentence. I’m from Honduras, born and raised until I was seven, and I speak Spanish in my household, but when I’m with friends not once are you going to hear me say, “Hey, today my class went bueno.” (I hate how they have to use italics for other languages, is it just me?) But seriously my point is that we have Italians and Mexican characters that speak just one word in a sentence in their language and it was annoying, and just not true. I can go and say, “Callate la boca, you’re driving me nuts.” I wouldn’t say, “Callate your mouth, you’re driving me nuts.” Get it?

Now onto Blake and Miguel, who ran hot and cold every chapter. I don’t want to go over everything, but let’s just say that one scene Blake was telling him he didn’t want to continue and that they were done, and how he couldn’t say he loved him and then the next scene (separated by minutes) he was telling Miguel not to walk away from them. Then he wouldn’t want a relationship, but he didn’t want to lose him, and the cycle repeated all through the book.

Over it. Unfortunately, I will not be giving the series another try, and I suggest laying off the translations.

I’ll leave you with something I did like about the book:

“Never lower your expectations in yourself because those around you have lowered it in themselves.”

*ARC Kindly Provided via Netgalley*

You can buy this book here

Leave a Reply

