Book Review: The Harder They Fall by Lisa Henry, Heidi Belleau

The Harder They FallMy rating: Unrated (Short Stories I tend not to rate)
Received: Own
Publication Date: July 20th 2015
Publisher:Smashwords Edition
Point of View: 3rd Person (Tad)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, LGBTQA+, BDSM, Daddy Kink

BLURB:

Tad’s trust fund buys him anything and everything he wants. But all the cash in his pocket can’t keep boredom at bay, so he finds his way to the Address, the city’s most exclusive brothel. Tad is ready to play—the man who walks through the door is supposed to be at Tad’s mercy for the rest of the evening.

But from the beginning, the guy doesn’t seem to understand who’s in charge, and from the moment the whore demands Tad call him “Daddy,” all bets are off. In fact, Daddy couldn’t care less about what Tad wants. Instead, he’s more than ready to give his spoiled little boy exactly what he deserves.

NOTE: This title can also be read in the “Rules to Live By” BDSM anthology.

REVIEW:

“I’ll take this one,” a low, gravelly voice announced from behind him.

Wow. I’ve never been more speechless in my life, never had a complete mind for a review other than that word, “Wow,” I blew out, astounded. I read everything, seriously I do. There’s few kinks I haven’t read, some that I’ve stumbled without knowing and I’m the reader that tends to stick to a story when I’m deep and far into it. And really this isn’t the first Daddy Kink I’ve read.

I remember reading the other novel—it was a full-fledged book—and that blind sided me, because: one, didn’t know it was a daddy kink, and two, had never read that kink nor knew there was that kink. Still, I read the whole book (hated it, by the way), and cringed every time the protagonist said Daddy.


Did I cringe and stop reading this short novel? Well, see the thing was, you know. Uhm, I did finish it (read that a bit haltingly).

Now for the cringing, I was way more shocked with this short story than I was with the novel which is shocking. Tad, our main character, is one hell of a character. Entitled, spoiled, a brat, a little shit, asshole, the list can definitely go on. As for our other main character, well we don’t really get a name and I cannot call him Daddy (oops, just did) in my review nor the other name Tad calls him in his head.

The reader can tell Tad’s state of mind on the mysterious man because of how he’s dubbed in Tad’s head. We have one: the whore and two: Daddy. Seriously Tad was such an asshole and if Bossman is going to teach him discipline and Tad likes that then go for it, dude.

I’m not sure how I feel about this kink, but I’m not here for that. All I am going to say is that it was…what it was. And if you’re into it, then read this shortie. If you’re not, then stay clear of it. Don’t do it.

I would like to see how Tad changes, though, but that might just be masochist of me (I’m not, I swear!). Reading how Tad views the world and how he treats people was horrible, and seeing the tables turn was satisfying and really bossman is the one for Tad. That’s about it for my thoughts.

The harder it was to earn, the more he needed.

Leave a Reply

