Book Review: Secret by Kindle Alexander

Secret

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: June 9th 2015
Publisher: Kindle Alexander LLC
Point of View: 3rd Person (Dylan and Tristan with minor chracters: Teri and Chloe)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, LGBTQA+, Contemporary, Family

BLURB:

Tristan Wilder, self-made millionaire and devastatingly handsome CEO of Wilder-Nation is on the verge of a very lucrative buyout. With tough negotiations ahead, he’s armed with his acquisition pitch, ready to launch the deal of a lifetime. There’s just one glitch. The last thing he expects is to fall for the hot business owner he’s trying to sway.

Dylan Reeves, computer science engineer and founder of the very successful social media site, Secret, is faced with a life-altering decision. A devoted family man with three kids and a wife, Dylan has been living a secret for years. Fiercely loyal to his convictions, his boundaries blur after meeting the striking owner of the corporation interested in acquiring his company. For the first time in his life, reckless desire consumes him when the gorgeous computer mogul makes an offer he can’t refuse.

REVIEW:

Or are they?

Secret might just have the secret—pun intended—formula for those instances when you might not have liked the author’s earlier works, but you end up liking one of their work. Starting Secret, I was hesitant, I was sure I’d put it down and continue on the reading slump I was after my latest book, but lo and behold it ended up pulling me in.

Here I am, currently with somewhat of an eye problem and yet I crammed in however little I could read, because I needed to know what was going on with Tristan and Dylan, our main characters.

“Honor doesn’t mean always doing the right thing. I just try to do the right thing.”

Dylan Reeves couldn’t be more unavailable, at least not for a while. Tristan Wilder isn’t exactly looking to be available, for anyone. Once this two meet, though, things might have to take a turn for the wild.

Books about married men, who are so far in the closet they can’t find their way out (I swear almost all closeted m/m stories have this line) are not rare. So, what makes Secret different? Well, things are not what they appear. And I loved that! Give me angst and drama, and I’ll like it, but within reason and Secret had a perfect balance of everything.

When Tristan and Dylan first meet all I could think was: “Holy shit, this two!” and that same sentence looped around for most of my time reading the interactions with this two.What first got me was that Tristan, the CEO is trying to sway Dylan to sell him this Social Media app (kind of handy), Secret, but this can be interpreted in more ways than one….catch my drift?

Looking for a book without miscommunication, and worthless drama, and just the perfect amount of pining, and some hot businessmen action? Look no further. Bonus: wife that isn’t actually a horrible person? Check! Cool kids? Check.

But, we must ask, do secrets stay buried? What happens if they come out?

…… I had to!

Would you join a social media that allows you to interact in a secret setting? (Think everything deletes after you want it, leaving no trace)

Leave a Reply

