Book Review: On the Plus Side (Chubby Girl Chronicles #1) by Tabatha Vargo

On the Plus Side (Chubby Girl Chronicles, #1)My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: Own
Publication Date: January 19th 2013
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Point of View: 1st Person (Lilly and Devin)
Genres & Themes: Romance, New Adult, Erotica, Plus Size, Contemporary,

BLURB:

Big girls need love, too, but at what cost?

Lilly is loaded, not only with money, but with weight. Both things she could do without. But even with her undesired millionaire status, she doesn’t hold on to false hopes of finding true love. So when a sexy stranger comes into her life dripping with seduction, she finds it hard to resist. The bigger they are the harder they fall and Lilly falls straight through the floor in love with Mr. Sexy. Too bad he’s there for all the wrong reasons.

The chance of losing it all will make you do some crazy things and Devin’s willing to do whatever it takes to keep his life together. All seems lost when out of nowhere he’s approached by a Millionaire Momma with an offer he can’t refuse. But even a womanizer like Devin has a heart and when the short, chunky girl with the carefree attitude breaks through his icy façade, he finds that losing everything takes on a whole new meaning.

***Warning: this book contains graphic language, sex, and violence. Mature readers only. Not intended for young adult readers.***

REVIEW:

This is probably going to be one of the hardest review I’ve done this month, but it has to be done.

Rich heiress meets dirty garage boy

That’s one way that I could start this review. Tell you all about this story, and everything that happened, but my disappointment would seep through every sentence. In what I hoped would be a beautifully written story I found a mediocre, bland draft.


Let me make it clear that I do not mean any disrespect towards the author or her idea. Writing a novel is no easy feat, nor is it creating an idea and then for people to trash it. Leading to my second point: I’m in no way trashing this book or claiming that other readers not read it.

This book…this book had so much potential, the promise this book contained was, well, what made me want to read this. Boy, did I want to read this book. Devour is what it was, that how I went in and then the cliff happened. And I fell, and I continued with no sign of stopping until that last page with the 100% mark.

On the plus side, starred two characters in the first point of view. Devin Micheals and Lilly Sheffield, and perhaps that were it first went wrong. If only it had been written in third point of view focusing on both of them, then this review would have gone a different way. When I started I confused Devin for a girl. And sometimes throughout the different inner monologues this thought wasn’t rectified throughout the novel. Devin read like the inner thoughts of a girl. As for Lilly at first she was witty and funny, but then she grew dreary.

 

Leading to the turning point that wasn’t so shocking, but yet left many questions. Lilly’s mother one day out of the blue goes up to Devin. The guy who just sucker punched a bank employee, and lands in jail. Though that doesn’t faze Lilly’s mom, nor the fact that he’s just some garage boy. Alas! She does know where he lives, but we never come to find out why she choose him. That’s the thing there was so many loose ends, and nothing was thoroughly explained, everything happened in the blink of a chapter.

What I did enjoy is that Lilly never seem to want to change. We have the cliche story were the girl is overweight and in a scant months she sheds the extra pounds and all is right in the world. This was a refreshment to those shorelines, she never mentioned the want to lose those extra rolls.

And though I liked that. A lot. I just never truly connected with the story, and the one thing I need is to become attached to the story and characters. My emotional investment was nowhere to be found.

There were just outrages incidents that happened in the book that had me gaping at was I was reading. At one point Devin fell asleep in her bed, the next morning he woke up with the morning wood, and suddenly feels a warm body snuggled next to him. Without opening a slit of his eyes, he starts dry-humping said warm body. Not to mentioned that everyone had a smirking problem, and an abundance in the exclamation point department. I’m not even kidding, I have never seen so many exclamation points in a novel.

That’s not even the point! (See I can use them too, Devin!) It’s the fact that a mob of cheerleaders attacked Lilly to the point in were she couldn’t conceive, but instead of pressing charges Lilly merely switches schools. How does that make her seem? Like a saint. Saint my ass, that’s just plain inane. For her mother to be okay with that is beyond my imagination. SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! 

So, Lilly can’t conceive, right? Wrong, all the sudden she’s preggo. Sure, by some miracle it might be possible. A miracle baby. I can respect that. The problem is that again Lilly was just beaten to an inch of her life, but the baby is as healthy as a cucumber (Yeah, don’t question me) and the doctor who treated her after the accident never saw this. Righhhttttttt.

 


There is also the fact that Devin and Lilly fought around three times. Each time Lilly vowed to forget him, but always forgave him after two sweet words. I’m not cynical. Okay, maybe I am. But come on! That ending was rushed, and that epilogue? What was the point of that?

Finally, the biggest problem. The writing. The voice. See when writing the tell you one thing: Show rather than tell. That’s a big point. There are no rules when it comes to writing. Forget it, forget that there are rules, but that one point. Listen to it. It all read as if a twelve-year-old wrote it. I’m sorry, but it needs to be said. Not all the story, but for the majority of it. It was all telling, “I felt him touch my hand. I saw him do this. I.I.I”

I AM DONE! (MC’S STYLE)

One thought on “Book Review: On the Plus Side (Chubby Girl Chronicles #1) by Tabatha Vargo

Leave a Reply

