Book Review: Fawn by Nash Summers

fawn

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Free
Publication Date: June 3rd 2015
Publisher: M/M Romance Group @ Goodreads
Point of View: 1st Person (Rust & Ancel)
Genres & Themes: M/M Romance, LGBTQA+, Contemporary, Abuse, Short Story, Young Adult

BLURB:

Dear Author,
The guy on the left finds everything beautiful. Creepily so. He makes art out of road kill, writes love letters to people he’s never met, and stares incessantly at pretty men without them ever noticing. He spotted the guy on the right walking his dog through fields, and made him his newest object of affection. Only problem was, when he started staring at this guy, he stared back

Photo Description:
The backs of two teenage boys holding hands, one slightly leaning in toward the other. They’re walking through a field, illuminated by the sunlight in front of them. Around them are tall grasses and yellow stalks of wheat.

This story was written as a part of the M/M Romance Group’sLove is an Open Road” event. Group members were asked to write a story prompt inspired by a photo of their choice. Authors of the group selected a photo and prompt that spoke to them and wrote a short story.

This story may contain sexually explicit content and is intended for adult readers. It may contain content that is disagreeable or distressing to some readers. The M/M Romance Group strongly recommends that each reader review the General Information section before each story for story tags as well as for content warnings.

REVIEW:

“I can’t stop fawning over your ghost.”

There’s something to be said about a short story that speaks with the age of novels. I think that if an author can create a life story within a small amount of pages then that writer has done something beautiful. Nash Summers has given us beauty and heartfelt and moving and emotional in 76 pages. A whole life, a complete love story filled with first love, first heartbreak, and first mending of life and love.

For free!

I’m always in awe with the works that I read from the M/M Romance Group, continuously astonished that authors give their best for free works. Thank you, authors.

2015-07-10 22.08.47

I’d been debating whether to include this in my review but I will, I have to. Before reading this lovely shortie, I had acquired Grey and just the beginning turned me off. E.L. James doesn’t know how to write children, and it wasn’t even writing children but it was flashback or a dream and it was about Christian’s younger years, but the writing was just horrible. Writing about a children doesn’t not mean you write: I see car. It is green. Mommy doesn’t see it. Oh my. (James does this, by the way) I had to stop and purify my senses and so I picked up this story and since the beginning I was hooked. With the writing (E.L. James take note on how to write from a children’s perspective from Nash Summers, please!), with the emotions, with the story and it’s characters, with Rust.

“It had to be otherworldly, because when that boy with the raven-black hair and the crystal-blue eyes looked at me, Heaven wasn’t heaven anymore.”

I feel in love with Rust’s beautiful way of seeing the world since the first letter. His way of thinking and viewing the world is just this precious thing that must be protected at all cost, especially with those that think he’s weird which is almost everyone from town. The only ones who accept are his parents and reluctantly his best friend, Cindy. Before Cindy though he’s alone free to roam the fields in his backyard, where he spends the day writing letters to anyone and everyone, and creating beautiful if weird things out of bones and skulls and feathers. Then comes Ancel.

“ I was nothing like Ancel. I wasn’t made of glaciers and the midnight sky; I was made of the grass in the field, the warm breeze that flowed through it, and the dirt under the heels of my shoes.”

Ancel caught Rust’s eye and hurt since the beginning, but Ancel was an enigma to everyone. To me Ancel was just heartbreaking. From the beginning he seemed to want to merely blend in, not to have anyone know him nor him know anyone and with reason. Like Rust I just wanted to hug him and tell him he was beautiful, and loved.

“I think I might’ve seen a miracle, mom.”

That was the line that reeled me in and broke me all at once. What came after was just equally heartfelt and agonizing. I’ve never felt a story and it’s characters grow more than I did with this one. Whilst reading it all I could think about is how much went on for such a short story. Here am I weeks after reading this writing a review because I can’t get it out of my head. I’m holding and restraining myself not to spoil it, because hopefully you’ll give it a chance (and it’s free!).

“We were all ghosts to him, figments of his imagination, maybe, just blurs on the surface of the planet that he had to move around and weave through.”

I’ve read to works of Nash Summers and it reinstates the feeling that she’s an amazing writer and I’m looking forward from more of her work. Do I recommend? YES! Did I mention this is free? If the cover doesn’t entice you then hopefully my review does. Let me know if you do!

Rust:

 2015-07-10 22.33.23

Read Here!

Leave a Reply

